Very few. The big AI startup credit programmes from AWS, Google, Microsoft, OpenAI and Anthropic are built for companies developing software, and most need investor backing. A self-funded young business may qualify for AWS Activate Founders credits. For most small firms, annual billing, bundles, promotions, free tiers and nonprofit pricing save more.
That isn't a reason to ignore credits entirely. If you're building something on a cloud platform, even a small internal tool, a few hundred or a thousand dollars of credit is welcome. But the eligibility rules are specific, the credits only pay for certain services, and the money most small firms spend on AI goes on subscriptions that no credit programme covers. The sums below show where the real savings sit.
Who the big credit programmes are really for
These are the eligibility rules each vendor publishes, as checked on their own pages in September 2026:
| Programme | Credits | Key eligibility | Typical small firm? |
|---|---|---|---|
| AWS Activate Founders | Up to $5,000, starting with $1,000 | Self-funded; founded in the last 10 years; pre-Series B; AWS account on a paid plan; new to Activate credits | Possibly, on paper |
| AWS Activate Portfolio | Up to $200,000 | An organisation ID from an accelerator, angel or venture firm that is an Activate Provider | No |
| Google for Startups Cloud Program | Up to $200,000; up to $350,000 for AI startups at the Scale tier | Start tier: digital-native startups with a working product, a clear business model and plans to seek venture funding soon. Scale tier: venture-funded. Excludes nonprofits, consultancies, agencies and dev shops | No |
| Microsoft for Startups | Starts small; up to $150,000 over time as Azure use grows | Must develop a software product or service it owns; privately held and for profit; not a consultancy or agency; not Series C or later | No, unless you're building software to sell |
| Claude for Startups (Anthropic) | Not stated | Equity funding from an institutional investor; founded within the last four years; no previous Anthropic startup credits | No |
| OpenAI startup credits | Not stated | Through venture firms in OpenAI's partner network; OpenAI tells founders to ask their investor | No |
The pattern is clear: these programmes exist to win the software companies of the future. A florist, a bakery or a garage that uses AI tools isn't their target, however modern its operations. The only row where a young, self-funded business meets the published criteria is AWS Activate Founders, and even there AWS decides who counts as a startup.
What the credits can and can't pay for
Even when you qualify, the credits are narrower than they sound:
- Google's credits pay for Google Cloud services such as BigQuery and Gemini Enterprise. They can't be used for third-party services or anything bought through Google Cloud Marketplace, and third-party models in its Model Garden are billed separately. Google says members may get separate Workspace benefits, described in the welcome email; the credits don't simply pay your Workspace bill.
- Anthropic's credits apply to the first-party Claude API through the Claude Console. They can't be used on AWS Bedrock, Google Cloud Vertex AI or other platforms.
- AWS credits are subject to its promotional credit terms and need an AWS account on a paid plan; check the terms for which services they cover before building.
- Microsoft credits apply to eligible Azure services, and the larger amounts are released only as your Azure usage grows.
None of these pays for the tools most small firms actually spend on: ChatGPT Business or Claude Team seats, Microsoft 365 Copilot licences, Zapier plans or a CRM. Those come out of the normal budget whatever programme you join.
The bike shop's claim list, costed for year one
The worked example is an illustrative bicycle repair shop: three years old, self-funded, the owner and three mechanics. The owner plans a small AI set-up for the coming year: two ChatGPT Business seats, Zapier to copy online bookings into the workshop sheet, an AI receptionist for missed calls, and a simple parts-lookup assistant built by a freelancer on a model API. He went through every programme and discount he could find:
| Offer | Eligible? | Year-one value |
|---|---|---|
| AWS Activate Founders | Meets the listed criteria; acceptance is AWS's call | Up to $1,000 to start, useful only if the parts assistant runs on AWS |
| Google, Microsoft, Anthropic and OpenAI startup credits | No: not a software company, no investors | $0 |
| ChatGPT Business on annual billing (2 seats at $20 instead of $25) | Yes | $120 |
| Zapier Free (100 tasks, two-step Zaps) instead of Professional at $19.99 a month annual | Yes, while bookings stay under 100 a month | About $240 |
| Smith.ai AI Receptionist free tier (25 calls a month) instead of its $150 Pro plan | Yes, if missed calls stay near 25 | Up to $1,800 |
| Anthropic's free AI Fluency for Small Business course and OpenAI Academy | Yes | Training at no fee |
The ordinary discounts and free tiers are worth up to about $2,160 in year one; the startup credits, at best, $1,000 of cloud credit that only helps if the freelancer builds on AWS. And the free tiers come with conditions: once bookings pass 100 a month or missed calls pass 25, the savings shrink and the paid plans take over. The owner put both thresholds in his monthly review so the jump to a paid plan is a decision, not a surprise.
API costs are smaller than most owners expect
Credits look most tempting for API projects, so it's worth knowing how small those bills usually are for a small business. Say the parts assistant handles 1,500 questions a month, each using about 3,000 tokens of input (the question plus the relevant parts list) and 500 tokens of output. That's 4.5 million input tokens and 0.75 million output tokens a month.
- On OpenAI's gpt-6-luna ($0.10 input, $0.50 output per million tokens): about $0.45 + $0.38, under $1 a month.
- On Anthropic's Claude Haiku 4.5 ($1 input, $5 output per million): about $4.50 + $3.75, about $8.25 a month.
- Anthropic's Batch API halves both prices, for jobs that don't need an instant answer.
At those rates, a $1,000 credit would outlast the project's first version by years. The real costs are the freelancer's build time and someone keeping the parts list current, which no credit covers. For a fuller breakdown of API pricing for business automations, see what the ChatGPT API costs for a business automation. Remember too that subscriptions don't include API use: ChatGPT Plus and Claude Pro don't cover API calls, which are billed separately per token.
Discounts any small firm can claim now
- Annual billing. ChatGPT Business is $20 a seat a month billed annually against $25 monthly; Claude Pro is $17 a month billed annually ($200 a year) against $20; Zapier Professional is $19.99 against $29.99. Only commit annually to tools you're sure to keep; annual versus monthly billing runs the sums.
- Bundles. Microsoft 365 Business Standard with Copilot is $23.50 a user a month on an annual plan, against $35 for Business Standard at $14 plus the $21 Copilot Business add-on.
- Promotions. Copilot Business is $18 on annual billing from 1 July to 31 December 2026. HubSpot's pricing pages often show large first-year discounts on Starter against a $20-a-seat list price. Budget for the list price at renewal.
- Partner and vendor trials. Microsoft's Copilot in 30 offer gives organisations under 300 employees a 25-user, 30-day Copilot Business trial through partners until 31 December 2026. HubSpot offers 14 days of free access to its Customer Agent for eligible Professional and Enterprise accounts.
- Free tiers. Zapier Free (100 tasks a month, two-step Zaps), Make's free plan (1,000 credits a month), HubSpot's free CRM and the free tiers of the main chat assistants cover a surprising amount of a small firm's needs. Free versus paid AI plans covers where the limits bite.
- Nonprofit pricing, if you're eligible. ChatGPT Business Standard seats are $8 a user a month billed annually for nonprofits; Claude Team is $8 a user a month for nonprofits; Google Workspace for Nonprofits includes the Gemini app and Gemini Notebook. See AI discounts for charities and non-profits for the conditions.
- Free vendor training. OpenAI Academy and Anthropic's courses, including AI Fluency for Small Business, cost nothing and replace some paid introductions.
Three spending levels for a small team's AI set-up
Here's how those discounts play out for a four-person business at three levels of ambition, at list prices in USD per month:
| Level | What's included | Monthly, before discounts | Monthly, with the discounts above |
|---|---|---|---|
| Light | Owner on Claude Pro; Zapier Free; AI receptionist free tier | $20 | About $17 (Claude Pro annual) |
| Middle | 2 ChatGPT Business seats; Zapier Professional; AI receptionist Pro | $50 + $29.99 + $150 = about $230 | $40 + $19.99 + $150 = about $210 |
| Heavier | Middle, plus Copilot for 2 people on Microsoft 365 Business Standard | About $230 + 2 x $35 = about $300 | About $210 + 2 x $23.50 = about $257 |
The Microsoft figures are annual-commitment prices in both columns; the saving there comes from the bundle, not the billing term. At the heavier level, the discounts are worth about $43 a month, roughly $500 a year, and none of them depends on being a startup. The receptionist line is the one to watch: if missed calls stay under 25 a month, the free tier removes $150 a month from both columns.
Reading a first-year discount before you accept it
First-year discounts are the offers small firms meet most often, and they're easy to misread. HubSpot's Starter pricing page, for example, has shown a starting price of $7 a seat against a crossed-out $20 list price, describing savings of up to 65% for new customers on a limited-time offer. For a three-seat team, the difference between the first year and what follows is large:
- First year at $7 a seat: 3 x $7 = $21 a month, $252 for the year.
- At the $20 list price: 3 x $20 = $60 a month, $720 a year, almost three times as much.
The promotion is still worth taking if you'd use the tool anyway. The mistake is budgeting on the first-year figure or comparing it with another tool's full price. Before accepting any first-year discount, ask four questions in writing: how long the promotional price lasts; what the price becomes afterwards; whether the discount depends on an annual commitment; and whether seats added during the year get the same price. Then put the renewal date and the notice deadline in the calendar, so the price step at renewal is a decision rather than a surprise.
What chasing credits can cost
- Building on the wrong platform. Choosing a cloud because it offered credits, then finding the tool you need works better elsewhere, costs more than the credit was worth. Choose the platform first, then see what credit it offers.
- The bill after the credits. Credits expire or run out, and billing then starts automatically. A realistic example (illustrative): a small firm tests an analytics database on cloud credits, forgets a scheduled job, and gets its first full-price invoice three months after the credits end. Set a budget alert on day one.
- Promotional price cliffs. A promotional seat price usually ends at renewal. The $18 Copilot Business price becomes $21; HubSpot's first-year Starter discount becomes the $20 list price.
- Application time. Each programme wants a company website, business email, billing details and sometimes investor proof. For a business that won't qualify, an afternoon spent applying is an afternoon lost.
A software start-up that does qualify
For contrast, consider two founders building a booking app that they plan to sell to bike shops. They've raised a small round from an angel investor, founded the company last year, and host everything on one cloud. Their position is completely different: Google's Start tier describes them almost exactly (though angel funding alone doesn't qualify them for its Scale tier), Microsoft for Startups fits because they develop a software product they own, and Anthropic's programme needs institutional equity funding, which an angel may or may not count as, so they should check before applying. If their investor sits in a vendor's partner network, larger credits may follow. For them, credits could fund months of development infrastructure.
That's the dividing line in one sentence: credits are for businesses whose product is software. If you use AI to run a shop, a garage or a studio, spend your effort on the discounts list above instead, and on buying only what the team uses, as covered in negotiating AI software prices and seat numbers.
If you do apply: a checklist that avoids rejections
- A business email on your own domain, matching your public website. Google asks for this explicitly; a free email address is an easy reason to be turned down.
- A live website describing what you do.
- The account details each programme asks for: an 18-character Google Cloud billing account ID for Google; an AWS account on a paid plan for AWS Activate; a Claude Console account for Anthropic.
- Investor proof or a referral code if you're applying through a partner route.
- A budget alert and an expiry date in the calendar, set the day the credits land.
- A one-line answer to "what will this cost at full price?" If you can't afford it without the credits, don't build it with them.
For most small firms, though, the quickest saving is simpler: the cheapest way to start using AI is to begin with the free tiers, pay annually only for what the team uses every day, and check every promotion's renewal price before you accept it.
Credits and discounts: common questions
Do startup credits pay for ChatGPT Business or Claude Team subscriptions?
Generally no. The big programmes give cloud or API credits: Anthropic's startup credits, for instance, apply only to the Claude API through its own console, not to other platforms. Team subscriptions such as ChatGPT Business or Claude Team are billed separately, so plan to pay for those from the normal budget and use credits only for building.
What happens when startup credits run out?
Usage simply starts billing to your payment method, often without any pause. Before you build anything on credits, set a budget alert in the cloud account, note the credits' expiry date, and work out what the same usage would cost each month at full price. If that figure is unaffordable, the project needs a rethink before the credits end.
Can a sole trader claim any of these programmes?
Only in the rare case where the sole trader is building a software product that fits a programme's rules. For most sole traders, the practical savings are free tiers, annual billing on individual plans such as Claude Pro, and promotions. Note that ChatGPT Business and Claude Team need at least two seats, so an individual plan is often cheaper.
Further reads
- Best Free AI Tools for Small Business Owners and Their Catches — Free AI tools worth using, and the catch with each.
- How to Read AI Software Pricing: Seats, Credits, and Usage Fees — Seats, credits and usage fees explained before you compare offers.
- AI Subscription Prices Compared for Small Businesses (2026) — Current list prices of the main AI subscriptions.
- Per-Seat vs Usage-Based AI Pricing: Which Costs Less for You? — Which pricing model costs less at your volumes.
- How to Audit Your AI Subscriptions and Cut Wasted Spend — Find the savings hiding in your current subscriptions.
- What If Your AI Vendor Shuts Down? Checks Before You Commit — Checks before you build on a platform because of credits.
- Are AI Lifetime Deals Worth Buying for a Small Business? — What lifetime really means on a deal page, why per-use AI costs strain one-off prices, a payback test, and an exit plan to write on day one.
- AI Tools and AI Development: The Complete 2026 Guide — the AI hub, including every tutorial in the AI-for-business series.
Sources: AWS Activate credits page; Google for Startups Cloud Program FAQ; Microsoft Learn (What is Microsoft for Startups?); Claude for Startups programme page; OpenAI startups pages; Anthropic announcement of Claude for Small Business; Microsoft Learn partner announcements (Copilot in 30); HubSpot, Smith.ai, Zapier, OpenAI and Anthropic pricing pages. Checked September 2026.