Claude Pro is worth $17 a month (annual) or $20 monthly for a small business owner who uses Claude most working days. It adds Research, Claude in Chrome, Microsoft 365 add-ins, Opus models, scheduled tasks and more usage than Free. If you open Claude a few times a month, stay on Free.
The free plan is better than people expect, so the question is not "does Pro have more?" but "which of its extras do I use, and do I hit the free limits?". Answer those two honestly and the decision usually takes ten minutes.
What Free already gives you, so you do not pay twice for it
Read from Anthropic's pricing page on 5 November 2026, the free plan covers a lot: chat on web, desktop and mobile; web search; creating files and running code; memory across conversations; connectors to apps and tools; Artifacts; Claude Design, Slides and Docs; voice mode; and up to five projects. Free accounts also use the Sonnet and Haiku models.
That is enough for drafting customer emails, tidying a price list, summarising a PDF, or turning meeting notes into an action list. A yoga studio owner who writes one newsletter a week and answers enquiries would be well served by Free. The limits are the catch: Free usage is described only as "limited" every five hours and every week, with no number attached, and it varies with model, chat length and file size.
What Pro adds, line by line
| Feature | Free | Pro | Who feels the difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Usage | Limited | More than Free, every 5 hours and every week | Anyone who gets blocked mid-task |
| Research | No | Yes | Owners who compare suppliers, software or competitors |
| Claude in Chrome | No | Yes | Anyone with repetitive browser jobs |
| Claude for Microsoft 365 and Outlook | No | Yes | Teams living in Word, Excel, PowerPoint and Outlook |
| Hand off and schedule tasks | No | Yes | Weekly reports and recurring checks |
| Claude Dashboards (beta) | No | Yes | Owners with sales or booking data in a connected app or data warehouse |
| Claude Code | No | Yes | Mostly developers, rarely owners |
| Projects | Up to 5 | Yes (no cap shown) | Anyone with more than five clients or workstreams |
| Opus models | No | Yes | Hard analysis, long documents |
| Fable | No | With paid usage credits | Rare; optional |
| Usage credits (pay as you go after a limit) | No | Yes | Anyone who hits a limit only now and then |
Two things the page does not give you are worth knowing. Pro has no monthly API credits, and project sharing is "No" on Pro, so a Pro account cannot share a project with colleagues; that needs Team.
The usage-credits row deserves a sentence of its own. On Free, a limit means waiting. On Pro you can switch on usage credits in Settings, then Usage, prepay a small balance and set a monthly spending cap; when you hit a limit, work continues at Anthropic's standard API rates instead of stopping, and the charge appears separately on your bill. For an owner who hits the limit once a month on a deadline day, that is a safety net rather than a reason to buy a bigger plan.

The Complete Excel Course with AI Integration
From formulas and pivot tables to Power Query, DAX, VBA and AI with Copilot, ChatGPT and Claude — hands-on from the first lesson.
By Sagnik Bhattacharya and Virginia Thorn, Primetime Emmy Award winner
Buy nowResearch: the feature most owners underrate
Research is Claude running a series of searches that build on each other, across the web and any tools you have connected, such as Google Workspace, and writing up what it finds rather than giving a quick answer. It is included from Pro up and not on Free, and web search must be switched on for it to work. Anthropic's help centre adds two details worth planning around: research runs on the Opus models whichever model you have selected, and research sessions can use up your limits faster than normal chats. Use it when the answer needs more than one page of reading, and ask for the source behind every figure so you can check it.
A print shop owner choosing between three large-format printers can ask for a comparison of running costs, ink or toner yield and service arrangements. Because her brief asks for the manufacturer page behind each figure, the report tells her where to look. She still verifies the two or three numbers that decide the purchase, but she has saved an evening of tabs.
Research brief (illustrative)
Compare three wide-format printers I am considering for a small print shop.
For each: purchase price range, cost per square metre of ink, typical
maintenance interval, and the warranty terms on the manufacturer's own page.
Give a table, then list anything you could not confirm from a manufacturer
page. Do not use reseller marketing copy as the only source for a figure.
The last two sentences matter. Telling Claude to flag what it could not confirm turns a confident-sounding report into one you can audit.
A break-even sum for a solo owner
Illustrative numbers for a tutoring centre owner who runs four classes a week and does her own admin. She estimates AI saves her about three hours a week on drafting parent emails, lesson outlines and quote follow-ups, and she values her time at $25 an hour.
| Line | Figure |
|---|---|
| Hours saved a week | 3 |
| Hours saved a month (4 weeks) | 12 |
| Value at $25 an hour | $300 |
| Pro cost (monthly billing) | $20 |
| Free plan cost | $0 |
| Break-even over Free | $20 / $25 = 0.8 hours a month |
The comparison that matters is not Pro against doing nothing but Pro against Free. If Free already delivers the three hours, Pro adds nothing. If Free blocks her twice a week mid-task, Pro only has to restore under one hour a month to pay for itself. The break-even is low because the price is low, so the real risk is not the subscription but the forgotten one that you never use.
Three tests that decide it
- The limit test. Did Free tell you to wait more than twice in the last fortnight? If yes, that is the clearest sign.
- The feature test. Is there a Pro feature you would use weekly: Research, Chrome, the Microsoft 365 add-ins or scheduled tasks? Name the exact task. "Might be useful" does not count.
- The project test. Do you have more than five ongoing contexts (clients, product lines, or workstreams) that deserve their own project with files and instructions? Free stops at five.
One yes is enough to try Pro for a month. Zero yeses means stay on Free and re-run the test in three months.
Claude in Chrome and the Microsoft 365 add-ins
These are the two Pro features that change how work gets done rather than how fast chat replies arrive.
Claude in Chrome works inside your own browser: it reads the page, clicks, fills in fields and follows multi-step instructions, and Anthropic's Chrome page now lists it as generally available on every paid plan. The permission modes are "Manually approve", "Automatically approve" and "Skip all approvals"; the side panel starts in "Automatically approve", so change it before your first job. Anthropic recommends against using it on financial accounts, legal documents, health information, sensitive work accounts or pages showing other people's personal data. A sensible first job is read-only: gather prices from three supplier pages into a table, with manual approval on. Our walk-through of supplier price checks in Chrome shows the setup.
Claude for Microsoft 365 is a set of add-ins for Excel, PowerPoint, Word and Outlook that put Claude inside the tools many offices already use, and Anthropic's documentation says the add-ins share what happened in one app with the others. If your invoices live in Excel and your proposals in Word, the add-ins save the copy-and-paste step. If you work mostly in Google Workspace, this row of the table is irrelevant to you and you should not count it as a reason to upgrade. For the spreadsheet side specifically, see Claude for Excel.
Four owners, four verdicts
A wedding planner juggling eight couples
Each couple has contracts, a timeline and a supplier list. Eight is above the free cap of five projects, and she wants Research for venue comparisons. Pro, clearly. If she later hires an assistant, she moves to Team so project files can be shared.
A yoga studio owner writing a weekly newsletter
One newsletter, a handful of replies, a class description now and then. She never sees a limit. Free is the right answer, and she should re-test if her use changes.
A print shop owner with a stack of supplier quotes
He uploads long quote PDFs and wants them compared. Long documents consume allowance quickly, so Free blocks him often. Pro with a smaller model for formatting work and the strongest model for the comparison keeps him inside the limit.
A tutoring centre with three part-time teachers
Each teacher could take a Pro account, but three Pro accounts means three separate logins, three sets of private chats and nothing shared. Team's two-seat minimum and shared projects fit better. The next section works through that.
A project worth having: one filled-in example
Projects are where Pro earns its keep for a business with several clients or product lines, because each one keeps its own files and standing instructions. Free allows five; with eight couples, a wedding planner would run out before the season starts. Here is a filled-in set of project instructions she might paste for one couple, so every chat inside that project starts from the same facts.
Project: Couple 6, autumn wedding (illustrative)
Role: You are my planning assistant. Be concise and flag any date clash.
Facts: 120 guests, ceremony 2 pm, venue hire booked until midnight,
catering quote accepted at a per-head price, florist deposit paid.
Always: quote the contract clause when you mention a deadline or penalty.
Never: invent a price or a date. If a figure is missing, say "not stated".
Tone for client emails: warm, brief, no exclamation marks.
Once this is in place, a request such as "draft the reminder about the final guest count" returns an email that already knows the date, the head count and the tone. Without the project, she would paste the same facts into every chat, spend allowance re-reading them and occasionally forget one.
Scheduled tasks: a weekly job that runs without you
Pro lists "Hand off and schedule tasks" as a feature, and Free does not. A scheduled task is a recurring instruction, for example every Monday at 9 am, that Claude carries out and reports back on. Anthropic's help centre says scheduled tasks run remotely, so they keep to the schedule when your computer is asleep, and they can use your connectors, files saved to your Claude account and web research; past and upcoming runs sit under "Scheduled" in the sidebar. Start with something low-risk and read-only, because this area changes quickly.
Three examples a small business could try. A tutoring centre owner schedules a Monday summary of last week's enquiries from a spreadsheet she keeps in a connected drive, with the three that need a reply today. A print shop owner schedules a weekly web check of two suppliers' published price lists, with any change reported back rather than acted on. A yoga studio owner schedules a Friday prompt that drafts next week's newsletter from a short list of notes she keeps in a project.
The same warning applies to all three: a scheduled task is only as good as its instructions, so run each one by hand twice and read the output before you let it repeat unattended. If the first two runs need correcting, the schedule will repeat the mistakes every week.
Before and after: the same task on Free and on Pro
An illustrative case for a print shop owner who needs to choose between two suppliers for recycled card stock.
On Free. He asks Claude to compare the two suppliers. Claude answers from a short web search, gives general points about price and lead time, and says it could not open every page. He gets a useful starting list but has to do the cost per thousand sheets himself.
On Pro with Research. He gives a brief naming the weight, finish and quantity he buys, asks for cost per thousand sheets at his volume, minimum order, delivery lead time and returns terms, and says to mark anything it could not confirm. The report comes back as a table with source links, and three cells are marked "not stated on supplier page". Those three cells become his phone calls. The work is better because the gaps are visible, not because the maths is cleverer.
That difference, a structured report with sources and flagged gaps, is the clearest picture of what Pro adds for research-type jobs. For short writing tasks the two plans feel almost identical, and that is why the limit test comes first.
Mistakes owners make in the first month of Pro
A pattern I would watch for is buying Pro for a feature and then never switching it on. Chrome needs the extension installed and permissions chosen; the Microsoft 365 add-ins need installing inside Word or Excel; scheduled tasks need a first run. An owner who pays $20 and still copies text from a browser tab into chat is paying for a limit they have not hit.
A second pattern is using the strongest settings for everything. Anthropic lists the model you choose and the effort level among the things that decide how fast you reach a limit, so a Pro user who leaves the most capable model and the highest effort on for email rewrites meets the limit sooner than one who drops to a lighter model or lower effort for routine work. Switching per job is a free way to stretch Pro.
A third is pasting sensitive material without checking the privacy setting. If you handle client records, decide your policy before you upgrade, because Pro does not change the default.
Free, Pro or Team: a one-line summary per business type
- Solo, light use, no client data: Free.
- Solo, daily use, hits limits or needs Research or Chrome: Pro.
- Solo, heavy agent or document work: Pro first, then test Max.
- Two or more staff, shared files or client data: Team standard seats.
When Team is better than Pro
Pro is a single-person plan. Team (standard seats $20 a seat on annual billing, $25 monthly, for 2 to 150 seats) adds project sharing, central billing, single sign-on, admin controls over connectors and no model training on your content by default.
- Two or more people use Claude for the same business: Team. Shared projects mean the price list and brand voice live in one place.
- Client data is in prompts: Team, because training is off by default rather than something each person must remember to change.
- You are the only user: Pro. Team needs two seats, so a one-person business pays for two or stays on Pro.
Compare the money for three staff. Three Pro accounts on annual billing are $51 a month; three Team standard seats on annual billing are $60. You pay $9 more for shared projects, admin control and default-off training, which is usually cheap for what you get. The detail of the seat minimum is in Team seats or two Pro accounts.
Privacy on Pro, in plain words
On Free, Pro, Max and Ultra, the pricing page lists model training as an opt-out. Anthropic's privacy centre names the setting "Model Improvement", and it is yours to control in privacy settings. Pro does not turn it off by default. If you paste client names, invoices or health details into chats, check the setting before the first paste, not after.
The simplest rule is also the safest: do not put anything into a consumer chat that you would not be comfortable with on a shared drive. For a deeper checklist, read how to stop AI tools training on your business data.
A month-long trial that tells you the truth
Start with annual billing only after a monthly trial. Monthly billing costs $3 more a month but lets you leave without committing $200 up front.
Pro trial log (copy into a notes app)
Week 1: tasks I did that Free blocked or could not do
Week 2: tasks I did with Research / Chrome / Microsoft 365
Week 3: limit messages seen (count) and how long I waited
Week 4: hours saved (rough) and what I would miss if I cancelled
Decision: keep monthly / switch to annual / cancel / move to Team
Fill it in on the same weekday each week. The "what I would miss" line is the honest one: if you cannot name anything specific after a month, cancel.
The overlap trap: paying twice for the same job
Pro rarely fails because it lacks features; it fails because it duplicates something you already pay for. An owner on a Microsoft 365 business plan with Copilot, a ChatGPT Plus subscription and a Claude Pro account may be paying three times for drafting help that one of them would cover. Before adding Pro, list every AI subscription and which job each one actually does. If two do the same job, cancel the weaker one. Our tutorial on how many AI tools a small business needs gives a simple way to count.
A practical way to do the audit is a short table: tool, monthly cost, the one job it is best at, and the date you last used it. Anything with no "last used" date in the past month is a cancellation candidate. Claude's strengths for an owner are usually long-document reading, careful writing and, from Pro, Research and Chrome; if another tool already covers those, Pro may be redundant.
What to do next
Run the three tests in this tutorial, pick the first Pro feature you will use, and put a cancellation reminder in your calendar 30 days out. If the trial shows you need more room than Pro gives, the next tutorial to read is whether Claude Max is worth it. If more than one person needs access, plan for Team from the start rather than buying individual accounts and merging them later. If you would rather map the decision with someone, that is what my AI implementation consultation covers; get in touch.
Claude Pro questions owners ask
Is the annual Claude Pro price really $17 a month?
Anthropic lists $17 a month with an annual subscription, which means $200 billed up front, or $20 a month if you pay monthly. Prices shown exclude tax and can change, so confirm on the pricing page at the moment you buy.
Can I use Claude Pro for client work?
You can, but Pro is an individual plan with model-improvement controls you manage yourself. If client confidentiality matters, check that setting first, or use a Team plan, which does not train on your content by default.
Does Pro include API access for building automations?
No. Pro has no monthly API credits. Max, Ultra and Team plans include them. If you need to call the API, set up a separate API account and budget for it on its own.
What happens to my projects if I go back to Free?
Free accounts can create up to five projects. Anthropic's projects help article states that cap but does not spell out what happens to extra projects after a downgrade, so before you cancel, merge small projects, download any files you only keep there, and ask Anthropic support if a project matters.
Further reads
- Claude Team Admin Settings: Connectors, Chrome Access and Memory — What a Team admin controls once you move up.
- Who in Your Team Actually Needs a Paid AI Licence? — Which staff need any paid AI seat at all.
- How Much Does AI Cost a Small Business in 2026? — What AI subscriptions cost a small business overall.
- Best Free AI for Personal Training: Client Programmes and When to Pay — What a personal trainer gets from four free AI plans, which client details never go in, and the time sums that show when a paid plan earns its fee.
- AI Tools and AI Development: The Complete 2026 Guide — the AI hub, including every tutorial in the AI-for-business series.
Sources: claude.com/pricing and claude.com/chrome (fetched 5 November 2026); Anthropic help centre articles on research, usage limits, usage credits, projects, scheduled tasks, Claude Dashboards, Claude in Chrome permissions and safety; Claude for Microsoft 365 docs; Anthropic privacy centre.