Best Free AI Tools for Construction: Where Each Free Tier Stops

Coding Liquids tutorial cover featuring Sagnik Bhattacharya for Best Free AI Tools for Construction: Where Each Free Tier Stops.
Coding Liquids tutorial cover featuring Sagnik Bhattacharya for Best Free AI Tools for Construction: Where Each Free Tier Stops.

A small construction firm can use ServiceM8's Free plan (one user, 30 jobs a month), Smith.ai's free AI receptionist (25 calls), Hover's first three projects, Roofr's $0 Starter and the free chat assistants. Each free tier stops at a count or a feature, often the AI part itself, so read the limit before you build a habit on it.

"Free" means something different on every page. ServiceM8 lets you carry on for seven days after job 30, Smith.ai charges nothing until you switch overage on, Hover's three projects are three scans rather than three months, and Roofr's free plan includes no AI of its own. The limits below were read on the vendors' own pages and help centres in late October 2026, and they change often.

Follow me on Instagram@sagnikteaches

Where each free tier stops, side by side

ToolWhat free gives youThe AI partWhere it stopsNext step on the page
ServiceM8 Free1 user, 30 jobs a month, 10c per textAI writer and other AI helpers, 10 uses a dayJob 31 starts a 7-day grace, then an upgrade promptStarter $29: 50 jobs, unlimited users and AI uses
Smith.ai Free25 AI-answered calls a month, 50 simulated scenariosThe AI receptionist itselfCall 26, only if you switch overage on ($3 a call)Pro $150 a month, about $2 a call
Hover StarterFirst 3 projects, no card3D scan, measurements, a try of DesignProject 4 costs $29 to $139 for a roof, exterior or interior scan (blueprint scans cost more)Pro $999 a year includes Design
Roofr StarterUnlimited users, 10 trial proposals, invoices and work orders, 1 job board, 5 automated actionsNone included; the AI Receptionist add-on can be bought on any planMeasurement reports are $19 eachEssentials $249 monthly, $209 yearly
Mitti FreeUp to 10 seats, 5 active inspection templatesUp to 300 AI credits a seat each month; AI issue creation uses noneThe sixth template, or the last credit: the AI Assistant then waits for the monthly resetPremium $24 a seat yearly, $29 monthly
Free chat assistantsChat, uploads, web search, some projectsThe assistant itselfUsage windows, project counts, training defaultsPaid plans from about $5 to $20 a month

ServiceM8 Free: a job app that stops at 30 job cards

ServiceM8's pricing page pitches its Free plan at solo operators, and it is the only plan that caps users. You get one user and 30 jobs a month, with text messages at 10c each, and its AI helpers are capped at 10 uses a day. The AI writer drafts quote and invoice descriptions from rough notes, and AI reply suggestions offer three types of reply to a client message. Office Agent, the add-on assistant, is not included on Free.

Connect on LinkedInSagnik Bhattacharya

The counting rule is the catch. Every new job card uses a job credit, and quotes are job cards, so a firm that quotes 25 times and wins 10 has used 25 credits, not 10. Accepting a quote and turning it into a work order does not use another. When you reach the limit, the page says you can keep creating jobs for another 7 days, after which you are prompted to upgrade unless the plan resets. Starter at $29 lifts the limit to 50 jobs, with unlimited users and unlimited AI uses.

Subscribe on YouTube@sagnikteaches

A sole-trader plasterer might use the ten daily AI uses like this: four quote descriptions, five invoice descriptions and one reply to a customer. That is the whole allowance gone by lunchtime on a busy day, which is the real limit to notice.

Here is the helper at work on one note, with the output marked as illustrative. The rough note typed in the van reads: "ceiling, 2 coats, fill cracks, mist coat on new patches, 14 m2, dust sheets". The draft that comes back might read: "Prepare and decorate the ceiling, approximately 14 m2: fill cracks, apply a mist coat to new plaster patches and finish with two coats of emulsion. Floors and furniture protected throughout." What you would fix: it has turned "dust sheets" into a promise about furniture, and you may not offer that. Delete anything you would not stand behind, add your exclusions, then send. The helper tidies your words; it does not know your scope. If you work from your phone, AI Apps for Contractors: A Phone-Only Setup for One-Truck Firms shows where this fits in a one-van routine.

Smith.ai Free: 25 calls, then a switch you control

Smith.ai's AI Receptionist has a Free plan at $0 with 25 calls a month. The page says "$3.00/call after that", but overage charges are off by default and you turn them on or off yourself. A card is required at sign-up, and you are not charged until you authorise overages. The plan also includes Quality Studio, with up to 50 simulated scenarios a month, plus 25 test calls you place yourself. It supports English and Spanish, and warm transfers to a person are included on every plan.

The simulated scenarios are the underrated part. Rehearse the calls your firm really gets: a homeowner asking for a driveway quote, a supplier asking for the site address, a tenant reporting a leak. Hear how the AI handles each before a real customer does. Then compare what you would pay as the call count grows. Pro is $150 a month at about $2 a call, which works out at 75 calls, so the free route plus overage matches it at 75 calls and beats it below that.

Calls in a monthFree plan with overage onPro plan
20$0$150
40$45 (15 calls x $3)$150
60$105 (35 calls x $3)$150
75$150 (50 calls x $3)$150
90$195 (65 calls x $3)$187.50 ($150 plus 15 extra calls x $2.50)

The last row is where the order flips. Above 75 calls, each extra call costs $2.50 on the 75-call Pro tier against $3 on Free, so from call 76 onwards Pro is the cheaper route.

Three caveats. Every call the AI answers counts towards the quota by default; calls from known spammers are filtered out before it answers, and the pricing page lets you remove up to 10% of a cycle's calls as spam, so check your first month's count. The page lists 25 test calls and 50 simulated calls a month as separate allowances, but does not say in so many words that they sit outside the 25 real calls, so watch the counter while you set up. And the AI is one answer to a missed call, not the only one; AI Answering Service for Contractors: 100 Calls Priced Across Five Vendors shows what other vendors charge at higher volumes.

Hover Starter: three free projects, then a price per scan

Hover's pricing page says you can get your first 3 projects free, with no card needed. Starter has no subscription; after the third project you pay per project. Roof-only scans cost $29, $49 or $69 for simple, average and complex roofs, exterior scans cost $59, $99 or $139, and interior scans $29, $59 or $89 by floor area. The Pro plan is $999 a year, takes $20 off every project and includes Hover Design, while Starter lets you try Design and estimate with real brands. Expedited delivery costs $39 a project on Starter.

Treat it as a trial, not a tier. A roofing contractor who scans three roofs in a week has used the lot. The sensible plan is to spend the three on your most valuable quotes, such as a large complex roof and two average exteriors, and see whether the measurements and estimates change the price you give. If they do, the per-scan cost belongs inside your quote, at $99 or so for an average exterior, rather than in your overheads. If they do not, you have lost nothing. For the wider roofing toolset, AI Tools for Roofing Contractors in 2026 covers estimating and leads.

Roofr Starter: a free job board with the AI left out

Roofr's Starter plan is $0 with no commitment. It lists unlimited users, 10 trial proposals, invoices and work orders, one basic job board, five automated actions and measurement reports at $19 each delivered within 24 hours (ESX files are $12). That is a respectable free tool for a roofing crew that wants proposals and a simple pipeline. But no AI is included. The AI Receptionist is an add-on that any plan can take, Starter included: its own page prices it at $99 a month for 200 minutes and says it is free for customers on the Essentials or Scale plans until the end of 2026, with billing from 1 January 2027 unless you cancel. The pricing page adds an $85 figure marked "Save 15%", and it shows the Instant Estimator add-on at both $125 and $149.

Those conflicts matter, because they are the kind of detail you only find by reading every page. If Roofr is your pick, ask for the AI price in writing, ask whether the free period reaches Starter accounts (the page names only Essentials and Scale), and put 1 January 2027 in the calendar if you take the offer. It is a good example of why a "free plan" headline and the AI you want are often different things.

Mitti Free: site inspections with 300 AI credits a seat

Mitti, the safety and inspection app sold as SafetyCulture until its August 2026 rename, is the one free tier here built for the site rather than the office. Its Free plan covers up to 10 seats, with up to 300 AI credits a seat each month and 5 active inspection templates, plus tasks, issue reporting and basic analytics. Its AI Issue Capture turns photos or voice notes into actionable issues, and its AI Assistant creates checklists and training. Premium costs $24 a seat per month billed annually, or $29 monthly, and starts at 500 credits a seat.

For a groundworks firm with six people on site, five templates might be a pre-start check, an excavation inspection, a plant check, a housekeeping walk and a toolbox talk record. That fills the free tier on day one, so decide which five before you build any others. Mitti's help centre says creating an issue from a description and photos uses no credits, while AI Assistant chats, templates or training built from a chat, reports and agent runs do. It gives no exact counts, the credits reset each month without rolling over, and on Free the AI Assistant stops until the reset once they run out, so run a normal week and see whether 300 is generous or tight. And since an inspection record is a safety document, a person should read and sign it before it is filed.

Fieldwire Basic: free for five users, with the AI off the price list

Fieldwire's Basic plan costs $0 and allows 5 users, 3 projects and 100 sheets; Pro is $39 per user per month, Business $64 and Business Plus $89, all billed annually. It is a solid free site-management tool, but its pricing page does not assign any AI feature to a plan. The AI layer it advertises, Field Intelligence, is a beta with a sign-up form on Fieldwire's AI page and no price or plan stated, so file Fieldwire under "free construction app" rather than "free AI tool" until the vendor states what is included.

Free chat assistants: where ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini and Copilot stop

All four give a small firm something useful for nothing, and each stops somewhere different. Claude's Free plan includes web search, file creation and code running, memory, connected apps and Artifacts, with up to five projects, but usage resets on a rolling five-hour window and its pricing page marks model training as opt-out on Free, so check the setting in your privacy controls. Gemini's free tier includes image generation and editing and Deep Research with no quota stated, a usage limit that refreshes every five hours until a weekly limit, and 1K image downloads where a Google AI plan gives 2K. Gemini Notebook (formerly NotebookLM) takes up to 50 sources per notebook on the free tier, each up to 500,000 words or 200 MB, and its usage quota now refreshes every five hours up to a weekly limit instead of allowing a set number of chats a day.

Microsoft's Copilot Chat is free with eligible Microsoft 365 licences, and Microsoft's overview says it includes enterprise data protection for eligible work and school accounts. It offers standard access to file upload, image generation and models, which means it is subject to service capacity, and without the paid licence you get no priority access and only limited reasoning across your organisation's data. ChatGPT's Free plan has usage limits that change, so read OpenAI's plan page on the day; projects held five files on Free when last checked. For a fuller comparison, Is Free ChatGPT Good Enough to Run a Small Business On? weighs the question for the best-known one.

What they do well for construction is wording and reading: a scope of works in plain English, a polite chaser, a summary of a 40-page specification you paste in sections. What they cannot do is touch your jobs, calls or customers, which is why the job-app tiers above matter. Do not ask any of them for a quantity or a price and trust it. Free vs Paid AI Tools for a Small Trades Business covers what is worth paying for once the free tier chafes.

Here is a prompt worth saving for the specification job. Paste one section at a time, because long documents are where free plans run out of room first.

Below is section 4 of a project specification. List every
requirement on workmanship, testing and sign-off. For each
one, give the clause number and quote the exact words. If
something I might expect is not stated, write "not stated"
instead of guessing.

[paste section 4 here]

Open the quoted clause in the original every time. A summary can drop a condition, and a condition is what you get held to. The same method works for a subcontract, a client's insurance requirements or a supplier's delivery terms.

Three months on the free stack, with the bills

Take a four-person roofing and exteriors firm that stacks ServiceM8 Free, Smith.ai Free, Hover Starter and a free chat assistant. These monthly figures are illustrative. Job cards, quotes included, run 18, 27 and 36; calls answered by the AI run 20, 38 and 61; Hover scans are 2, 4 and 6, all average exteriors at $99 on Starter.

MonthServiceM8Smith.aiHoverTotal
1$0 (18 jobs)$0 (20 calls)$0 (2 scans, both free)$0
2$0 (27 jobs)$39 (38 calls: 13 x $3)$297 (4 scans: 1 free, 3 paid)$336
3$29 (36 jobs, Starter)$108 (61 calls: 36 x $3)$594 (6 paid scans)$731

The lesson is where the money goes. ServiceM8 and Smith.ai are the small lines: $29 and $108 in month three, against $594 for scans, and $150 for Smith.ai's Pro plan would not pay back until 75 calls. The scans dominate, and they are a cost of selling jobs, so build them into the quote rather than hunting for a cheaper tool. The free stack is not free from month two; it is cheap, and it shows you what you actually use before you commit to annual plans. Keep a one-line note of each limit and the month you expect to reach it.

The retyping bill: when free costs more than paid

Free tools rarely talk to each other, so every handover between them is a retype. Count them for one job in the stack above: copying a caller's details from a call summary into a job card takes about 3 minutes, pasting a chat-drafted scope into the quote 4 minutes, and carrying a scan's measurements into an estimate 5 minutes. That is 12 minutes a job. At 36 jobs in month three it comes to 432 minutes, or 7.2 hours, worth $252 at $35 an hour, against the $137 the two paid items cost that month ($29 for ServiceM8 plus $108 of Smith.ai calls). The minutes are my illustration, so time your own.

The point is not to pay for everything. A paid plan earns its fee only when it removes a handover. Jobber's receptionist, for example, can create a work request for you to review from a call, which removes the first retype; it is an add-on to a paid Jobber plan, so it would replace the free pieces rather than sit beside them. Count the handovers per job, find the one that eats the most minutes, and upgrade that link first. Leave the rest on free until a count says otherwise.

Keep tender pricing and client files out of free chat tools

The cost nobody lists is data. A free consumer chat tool may use your conversations to improve its models unless you switch that off, and the setting is easy to miss. For a construction firm, the sensitive items are rates and margins in a priced bill of quantities, a client's contract, a subcontractor's insurance details and drawings under a confidentiality clause. Switch off training in the privacy settings of any consumer account, strip names and rates before you paste anything, or use a business account, where the main providers do not train on your content by default.

Microsoft's Copilot Chat on a work account is the free option with data protection built in, which makes it the better home for client material if you already pay for Microsoft 365. Does ChatGPT Train on Client Data? Business vs Free Plans explains the difference. Whatever you decide, make it a rule for the whole team rather than a habit of one person.

Audit any free tier in five minutes

Do this before you put a free tool into a routine. Write the answers in a note you keep with your subscriptions.

  1. What is the unit that runs out: a job, a call, a project, a seat, a credit?
  2. What happens at the limit: it stops, it charges, it holds your work, or it lets you carry on for a while?
  3. What is the next price, and is the AI inside it?
  4. Does it need a card now, and is anything charged without your say-so?
  5. Can you export your data, and in what format?
  6. When will you reach the limit? Put the month in your calendar.

Here is the audit filled in for Smith.ai Free. Unit: a call the AI answers, with known spam filtered out. At the limit: nothing is charged unless you switch overage on, then $3 a call. Next price: Pro at $150 a month for about 75 calls. Card: required at sign-up, not charged until you authorise overages. Export: not stated on the page, so ask. Reach the limit: month two, when the count passes 25 (38 calls in the example above). Five minutes of this per tool saves the surprise bill, and it shows quickly when a free plan is really a trial.

Questions about free AI tools on a building site

Are free AI tools safe for client and tender documents?

Not by default. Consumer chat plans can use your chats for model training unless you switch it off, and Claude's pricing page lists its Free plan as opt-out for training. Business accounts, and Microsoft's Copilot Chat on eligible work accounts, add data protection. Keep tender pricing and client files out of free consumer tools unless you have checked the privacy setting.

What happens when I hit a free limit?

It differs by tool. ServiceM8 lets you keep creating jobs for another 7 days, then prompts an upgrade. Smith.ai charges nothing beyond 25 calls unless you switch overage on, then $3 a call. Hover charges per scan after the first three projects. Check the page for the exact rule and set a calendar reminder for the month you expect to reach it.

Is a free AI plan worth it for a one-person firm?

Often yes, because the limits are sized for one person. ServiceM8 Free is meant for sole traders, and 25 AI-answered calls or 30 job cards a month suits a small workload. The risk is not cost but switching later, so keep your customer list exportable from day one.

Which free tool gives the most for a small builder?

A job app plus a free assistant. ServiceM8 Free gives you quotes, jobs and an AI writer for one user, and a free chat assistant handles wording and document questions. Add the free call answering only if you miss calls on site, and treat Hover's three projects as a trial rather than a tier.

Further reads

Sources: ServiceM8 pricing page and AI page; Smith.ai AI Receptionist pricing and product pages; Hover pricing page; Roofr pricing and AI Receptionist pages; Mitti pricing and home pages and its help article on AI credits; Fieldwire pricing page; Claude pricing page; Gemini plans page and Gemini Notebook help pages on sources and usage limits; Microsoft Learn overview of Copilot Chat. Read on 29 October 2026.

Want a free-first AI setup that will not trap you?

On a 1:1 call we can map the jobs your firm repeats, choose which ones a free tier can handle, and plan the point at which paying for a tool makes sense.

Book a 1:1 call with me