Brightwheel vs Procare: Which Daycare Software Has Real AI?

Coding Liquids tutorial cover featuring Sagnik Bhattacharya for Brightwheel vs Procare: Which Daycare Software Has Real AI?
Coding Liquids tutorial cover featuring Sagnik Bhattacharya for Brightwheel vs Procare: Which Daycare Software Has Real AI?

Neither wins outright. Brightwheel has a built-in AI assistant that answers questions from your centre's live data and flags issues. Procare's AI sits in RoomRunner, an enrolment-planning tool, and in Camber, the assistant it gained by buying Playground on 14 September 2026. Pick by which AI job you need, and test it in a demo on your own numbers.

Both vendors quote centre pricing through a form, so there is no published number to compare for a centre (Procare's home page does list a home version for in-home providers at $25 a month). That makes the demo the real comparison, and the quality of your questions matters more than any feature list. The sections below separate what each vendor says it does from what you should check, and end with a scored demo you can run in an hour.

Follow me on Instagram@sagnikteaches

What Brightwheel says its AI does

Brightwheel's AI assistant page describes it as an operational partner built into the product, with no separate tool or login, and states that it is completely optional. In my reading of the page, it does three things.

Connect on LinkedInSagnik Bhattacharya
  1. Answers questions in plain language about billing, enrolment, attendance, staff-to-child ratios, rosters, staff and contacts. The examples on the page are the kind a director would ask a colleague: how many children are enrolled this month, which families are behind on tuition, which rooms are out of ratio right now. Answers come from your live data rather than a generic web search, and you can ask follow-ups, give a thumbs up or down, or copy an answer to send to your team.
  2. Flags what needs attention across billing, enrolment, staffing, admissions and compliance, and shows suggested questions on the homepage.
  3. Stays in your control. The page says it is scoped to your programme's data and never acts without your approval.

Separately, Brightwheel's CRM and enrolment-forecasting page describes a pipeline for inquiries, tours and waitlists, and an Enrollment Forecasting view of open spots by room and week, months ahead. That page does not use the word AI in the text I read, so treat forecasting as a planning tool until the vendor tells you what is behind it.

Subscribe on YouTube@sagnikteaches

What Procare says its AI does

Procare's home page says it is trusted by educators at more than 40,000 child care centres, and its AI is concentrated in two places.

  • RoomRunner is described as an AI-powered enrolment planning tool built into Procare. It draws on live enrolment, attendance, child profiles and ageing milestones to show what is happening across your centre, predict openings, recommend which children to move and when, match waitlisted families to upcoming openings, and raise ratio alerts. The page talks about planning 30, 60 or 90 days or more ahead and seeing openings 30 or more days in advance, and says you always make the final call. Procare's launch release (13 May 2026) adds that RoomRunner was available to all Procare Online customers at no additional cost, looks up to 12 months ahead, and that every recommendation needs explicit approval before anything changes.
  • Camber is the AI assistant from Playground, a separate all-in-one childcare platform that the release says more than 5,000 programmes use, and which Procare announced it had acquired on 14 September 2026. The release calls Camber the first AI assistant built for child care but lists no features; it says customers of either product will keep using the same product with no action needed, and does not set out how the two will be combined.

So Procare's two AI stories are separate today: RoomRunner for people on Procare, and Camber for people on Playground. If you are choosing now, ask which of them is actually available for the product you would buy, and whether that is expected to change.

The Complete Excel Course with AI Integration thumbnail

The Complete Excel Course with AI Integration

From formulas and pivot tables to Power Query, DAX, VBA and AI with Copilot, ChatGPT and Claude — hands-on from the first lesson.

By Sagnik Bhattacharya and Virginia Thorn, Primetime Emmy Award winner

Buy now

Side by side, on the AI jobs that matter

JobBrightwheel (vendor's description)Procare (vendor's description)What to check
Ask questions of your own dataBuilt-in assistant; billing, enrolment, attendance, ratios, rostersCamber on Playground; not described for Procare itself on the pages I readAsk each to answer five of your real questions live
Spot problems earlyFlags across billing, enrolment, staffing, admissions, complianceRoomRunner ratio alerts and capacity warningsWhich flags are rules and which are model-based?
Predict openings and plan enrolmentEnrollment Forecasting by room and weekRoomRunner forecasts, move-up suggestions, waitlist matchingTest with a room you know will have a gap
Parent messaging and daily reportsMessaging, daily reports and activity sharing described; AI drafting not statedParent communication described; AI drafting not statedAsk if any message is AI-drafted and who approves it
PricingQuote via form after capacity and locationsQuote via form for centres; home version listed at $25 a monthAsk whether AI is in the base price; RoomRunner launched at no extra cost on Procare Online

Where a cell says "not stated", I did not find it on the vendor's pages, which is different from saying the feature does not exist. Put those cells on your demo list.

What is real AI and what is a rules-based alert

A ratio alert that fires when children outnumber a fixed staff-to-child limit is a rule. A question-and-answer assistant that turns "which rooms are out of ratio right now" into a query and a sentence uses a language model, with the rule underneath. A forecast that suggests which child should move to the next room based on age and capacity may be a rules calculation or a statistical model. Vendors rarely say which, and for planning purposes you do not need the label. You need to know whether the output is right on your data. The checking method is the same one used in the dispensing software tests for pharmacies: ask what goes in, what comes out, who approves, and what happens when it is wrong.

A scored demo for a 60-child centre

Illustrative. Take a centre with 60 licensed places across four rooms, a waitlist of 18 families and a director who spends about six hours a week on enrolment planning. Ask each vendor to run the same five tasks in a demo using your numbers, entered beforehand as sample data.

  1. "Which rooms will have an opening in the next 60 days, and why?"
  2. "Which of the 18 waitlisted families fit those openings by age and days needed?"
  3. "Show families overdue on tuition by more than two weeks."
  4. "Which rooms were out of ratio last Tuesday, and for how long?"
  5. "Draft a message to the three oldest families on the waitlist about an opening." Then show who approves it.

Score each task from 0 to 2: 0 means it could not do it, 1 means it did it with workarounds, 2 means it did it correctly first time. Then add one point if the vendor could point to where the answer came from in your data.

Demo score sheet (illustrative)
Task                         Vendor A   Vendor B
1 Openings in 60 days           2          2
2 Match waitlist to openings    1          2
3 Overdue tuition               2          2
4 Out-of-ratio history          2          1
5 Draft message + approval      0          1
Source shown for answers        +3         +2
Total (max 13)                  10         10

In this made-up scoring both vendors tie, which is useful because it forces the next question: what does each one cost, and which gap hurts more? A centre that struggles to fill rooms might value task 2, a centre under inspection pressure might value task 4. The score sheet turns a vague preference into an argument you can defend.

Quote-only pricing: what to ask before the demo ends

Both vendors collect your details through a form before quoting a centre; Brightwheel's form asks your maximum enrolment capacity and number of locations first, so have those figures ready. The questions below apply to either.

  • What is the price per child or per room, and at what capacity does the price change?
  • Which modules are in the base quote (billing, attendance, messaging, curriculum, payroll, staff scheduling) and which are extra?
  • Is the AI assistant or enrolment planning included, optional, or an add-on?
  • What are the card-processing fees on tuition payments, and who sets them?
  • Is there a set-up or onboarding fee, and what does it cover?
  • What is the minimum term, and what happens to the price at renewal?
  • If you cancel, in what format can you export children's records, billing history and attendance?

Write each answer in an email and ask the salesperson to confirm. A spoken price from a demo has no weight when your renewal letter arrives.

Children's data and consent

Software that holds children's records needs careful handling whichever vendor you choose. Ask where data is stored, who at the vendor can see it, whether any content is used to train models, and how the AI assistant handles a question that mentions a named child. Brightwheel's page says its assistant is scoped to your programme's data, which is the right design, but confirm in the contract what that means for training and retention. Check your own licensing and parent agreements for any wording you need to update when an AI feature goes live, and use what to check in an AI tool's privacy policy and terms for the clauses. For the day-to-day question of what staff may type into a general chat assistant, can a daycare use ChatGPT sets the line.

What a good assistant answer looks like, and what to fix

Run this as a live test. Ask the assistant a question and compare its answer with the report you would trust. The sample below is invented to show the shape of the check, not output from either product.

Question: "Which families are behind on tuition?"

Illustrative answer:
"Seven families have an unpaid balance. Three are more than 14 days overdue, totalling $2,940. The oldest balance is 31 days."

What to check:
1. Does "seven" match the aged-debt report? Count the rows.
2. Is "more than 14 days" measured from the due date or the invoice date?
3. Does $2,940 include late fees or only tuition?
4. Are families on a payment plan counted as overdue?

Those four checks take two minutes and reveal whether the assistant's definitions match yours. If they do not, the problem is not wrong maths but a differing definition, and you can often adjust your wording to the assistant's ("overdue by invoice date") rather than distrust it. Write the definitions that matter in a one-page glossary pinned in the office, so every director asks the same way.

A cost sum with invented numbers

Because neither vendor publishes prices, build your own comparison grid once quotes arrive. Here is how it might look for the 60-child centre, using made-up quotes purely to show the arithmetic.

LineQuote A (illustrative)Quote B (illustrative)
Monthly platform fee$420$380
AI assistant or planning add-onIncluded$60 a month
Onboarding fee, one-off$0$500
Card fee on tuition (2.9% of $54,000 a month)$1,566, paid by families$1,566, paid by centre
Year-one cost excluding card fees$5,040$5,780

Year one for A is 12 times $420, which is $5,040. For B it is 12 times $440 ($380 plus $60), which is $5,280, plus $500 onboarding, giving $5,780. Quote A looks cheaper by $740, but the card line changes the picture: if B's centre pays the fee, $1,566 a month is far larger than any platform difference, so read who bears processing costs before comparing anything else. This is the line most owners skip.

A four-week trial once you have chosen

  1. Week 1, data clean-up. Fix room assignments, birth dates, contact details and withdrawal notices. Any forecast or assistant is only as good as these records.
  2. Week 2, shadow mode. Keep running your old process and ask the assistant the same questions in parallel. Note every difference.
  3. Week 3, staff questions. Let two room leaders ask their own questions and record the ones it fails.
  4. Week 4, decide. Keep, switch off, or ask the vendor for a fix, with the failures from weeks 2 and 3 as your evidence.

Records the AI will not fix for you

Whichever product you pick, a short list of habits decides whether any AI feature works. Enter withdrawals and room moves on the day. Use one agreed definition for a full day, a half day and a drop-in. Record ratios at check-in rather than reconstructing them later. Review the staff roster against the register every Friday. None of these is clever, and all of them feed the assistant and the forecast. The ratio and schedule side is covered in staffing ratios and the daily schedule with AI in more depth.

Daily reports and parent messages: the AI job both pages leave vague

Parents notice daily reports and messages more than any dashboard, and neither vendor's pages I read said clearly whether AI drafts them. Brightwheel's daily report page talks about recording activities, photos and milestones and sending automated summaries to families each day, but does not say a language model writes them. Treat it as an open question for the demo. If a vendor does offer drafting, test it with the same note typed by two different room leaders, one terse and one chatty, and look at whether the outputs stay factual.

Staff note (illustrative): "Lunch: ate most of pasta, no veg. Nap 12:40-2:05. Cried at drop-off, fine after 10 min. Painted."

Weak draft: "[First name] had a wonderful day full of joy and learning, and loved every moment!"

Better draft: "[First name] ate most of the pasta but left the vegetables. Nap was 12:40 to 2:05. There were tears at drop-off that settled within ten minutes, and the afternoon was spent painting."

The weak draft invents feelings the note never mentioned. The better one restates only what staff recorded. Ask the vendor how the assistant is kept to the second style, and write "no invented details" into the room leaders' approval checklist. The wider approach is in how nurseries use AI to write daily reports for parents.

Questions to put to a centre already using each product

A reference call is the best evidence you can get, as long as you ask for specifics. Ask the vendor for two centres of a similar size and room count, then ask them these, and take notes.

  • How many hours a week did the director spend on billing and enrolment before and after the move?
  • What did the first month of data migration look like, and what had to be re-entered by hand?
  • Do you use the AI features weekly, occasionally or never? Which one?
  • When did you last contact support, and how long did the answer take?
  • What would you ask the vendor to change?
  • Has the price changed since you signed?

Be wary of a vendor that cannot offer a reference at your size. If both can, the answers on support speed and the price at renewal are often the deciding evidence, because they describe what the contract will feel like in year two rather than in the demo.

When each makes sense

Brightwheel tends to fit a director who wants to ask questions of the whole operation in plain language, and who values one system for billing, attendance, communication, learning and admissions. Check how much of the AI value you would use in a first year.

Procare tends to fit a centre whose pain is filling rooms and managing transitions, since RoomRunner is aimed squarely at that, or one already on Procare for billing that wants to add planning. If you are considering Playground, ask about its roadmap under Procare first.

Both should be compared on the basics before AI: billing accuracy, parent app quality, check-in speed, support response and exit rights. A great assistant in a product your staff dislike is a poor purchase.

Three ways a rollout goes wrong

The assistant nobody trusts

A director asks the assistant for last week's attendance and gets a number that disagrees with her own count, because a late check-out was entered as the next day. Staff stop trusting the answers. The fix is to treat the first month as a calibration: every answer the director uses is checked against a source and any mismatch is traced to a data-entry habit, not blamed on the tool.

The forecast that ignored a known gap

A centre relies on a forecast for September openings, but two families have told staff verbally they are leaving, and nobody entered it. The forecast shows no gaps. Predictions only see what has been recorded, so write a rule: any notice of withdrawal, however informal, is logged the same day.

The message that sounded wrong

An AI-drafted waitlist message uses a cheerful tone with a family who has been waiting over a year. The director edits it to acknowledge the wait. Keep a human approval step for every outbound message to a family, and keep a short list of phrases to avoid.

A short plan for choosing

Run the demo with both vendors on the same day and score the five tasks. Ask the seven pricing questions and file the answers. Check children's data terms. Ask a centre of similar size that uses each product what the first three months were like, since they will tell you what a demo will not. If your centre is small, put the first-month review in the calendar now. A first trial of the assistant on your own questions will show you more than any comparison, including this one. The nine admin jobs where AI helps a centre, from enquiry to pickup, are listed in AI for daycares: nine admin jobs from enquiry to pickup.

Brightwheel, Procare and AI: common questions from owners

Does Procare still sell Playground?

Procare announced on 14 September 2026 that it had bought Playground, and said customers of either product would see no change today. Beyond that, the company had not published a roadmap on the pages I read. Ask in any demo whether Camber is being merged into Procare or kept separate, and get the answer in writing.

Is Brightwheel's AI assistant included in the price?

The pages I read did not state it. Brightwheel quotes prices per centre through a form, so ask whether the AI assistant is in the base quote, optional, or an add-on, and what changes if you switch it off. The vendor describes it as optional. For comparison, Procare's launch release said RoomRunner came at no additional cost for Procare Online customers.

Which one is better for a very small home daycare?

Procare's home page lists a home version for in-home providers at $25 a month; Brightwheel asks for your capacity before quoting. Compare billing, attendance and parent messaging first, because that is where small providers spend most of their time. AI features matter less until you have waitlists and several rooms to plan.

Can an AI assistant change records on its own?

Brightwheel says its assistant is scoped to your programme's data and never acts without your approval. For any vendor, ask for the exact list of actions the assistant can take and the log it leaves, and test one before you rely on it.

Further reads

Sources: Brightwheel pricing, AI assistant, daily report and CRM and enrolment forecasting pages; Procare home, request-pricing and enrolment planning pages, the RoomRunner launch release (13 May 2026) and the Playground acquisition release (14 September 2026), all read on 4 November 2026.

Choosing daycare software and unsure which AI is real?

On a 1:1 call we can turn your demo notes into a scored comparison, decide which AI jobs are worth paying for in your centre, and plan a safe first trial.

Book a 1:1 call with me