Dialpad Connect costs £12 per user a month on Standard and £20 on Pro with annual billing, or £22 and £28 month to month; Enterprise is quoted. Dialpad's pages do not say whether VAT is included, so budget 20% on top. Each user gets one local number; extra 01/02, 07 or 0800 numbers need Pro or above.
"From" matters. Dialpad's own FAQ warns that the price you see may differ from your actual price because of regional pricing and currency, and that sales will give a custom quote. The figures here come from pages read on 5 November 2026, and every gap is flagged, so you know what to put to the vendor before you pay.
The prices Dialpad shows UK buyers
Dialpad's UK number page lists Standard from £12 (€15) per user a month and Pro from £20 (€25), with Enterprise on request. The main pricing page has a currency picker and a Monthly and Annual toggle; with pounds selected, the page's own price data gives £12 and £20 on annual billing and £22 and £28 on monthly billing. The dollar list prices are $15 and $25 on annual billing, so the pound figures are set separately rather than converted: £12 is roughly 80% of $15 taken at face value. That is a reason to get the quote in the currency you will pay in.
| Plan | Annual billing | Monthly billing | Dollar list price (annual) | What Dialpad lists |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Connect Standard | £12 per user a month | £22 | $15 | HD calls and meetings, real-time transcripts, call summaries, one local number per user, unlimited UK calls |
| Connect Pro | £20 per user a month | £28 | $25 | Standard plus key CRM integrations, 24/7 support, multi-office management, additional numbers |
| Connect Enterprise | Custom | Custom | Custom | Pro plus single sign-on, access controls, unlimited offices, 99.9% uptime |
Dialpad also sells Support (contact-centre) and Sell (outbound sales) at higher per-seat prices. In pounds on annual billing, Support is £59, £79 and £99 per user a month (Essentials, Advanced, Premium) and Sell is £29, £39 and £49. If you are not sure you need them, work through the five-question seat test first, because most small offices need Connect only.
VAT: do the sum both ways
Neither Dialpad page I read states whether the prices include VAT. One clue points one way: Dialpad's help centre says its invoices carry a "Total Tax" line in the billing summary, which is how tax added on top of a price usually appears. GOV.UK lists the standard rate as 20%, and says a VAT-registered business can reclaim VAT on things it buys for the business through its VAT return, provided it holds valid VAT invoices; for such a business the real cost is the net price. A business that is not VAT-registered cannot reclaim it, and one that sells a mix of taxable and exempt services may be able to reclaim only part, so for them more of the gross price is the true cost. Which category you are in, and how VAT is handled if the invoice comes from a supplier based abroad, are questions for your accountant.
Budget both ways until the quote settles it. The two readings for six Standard seats:
- Prices exclude VAT: 6 x £12 = £72 net, £86.40 with VAT at 20%.
- Prices include VAT: £72 is the gross figure, so the net is £60 and the VAT inside is £12.
The gap between the two readings is £14.40 a month, £172.80 a year, which is small on six seats and more noticeable at sixty. Ask sales one question and get the answer in writing: "Are the per-user prices on the quote exclusive of VAT?" Put the reply in the folder with the invoice.

The Complete Excel Course with AI Integration
From formulas and pivot tables to Power Query, DAX, VBA and AI with Copilot, ChatGPT and Claude — hands-on from the first lesson.
By Sagnik Bhattacharya and Virginia Thorn, Primetime Emmy Award winner
Buy nowBudgeting a six-person cleaning company
Illustrative only. A cleaning company has a two-person office, three team leaders who often work on site, and the owner. The owner wants every person to have a business number, a mobile app and call summaries, and the office also wants the CRM link.
- Three team leaders and one owner on Standard: 4 x £12 = £48.
- Two office staff on Pro for the CRM link: 2 x £20 = £40.
- Monthly list total: £88. With VAT at 20%: £105.60. Annual: £1,056 net, £1,267.20 with VAT.
Compare with putting all six on Pro: 6 x £20 = £120, or £1,440 a year net. The mixed arrangement saves £384 a year net, but only if Dialpad confirms that Standard and Pro seats can share one account (see our five-seat Standard against Pro breakdown). These are annual-billing prices. On monthly billing the same mix is 4 x £22 + 2 x £28 = £144 a month, or £172.80 with VAT, which is why the billing period belongs in the quote request.
What would raise the bill: extra numbers, calls to countries outside the unlimited allowance, SMS on UK numbers (an add-on on every Connect plan, per the UK page) and any other add-on that Dialpad prices separately. None of these appeared with a pound price on the pages I read, so do not leave them out of your estimate; ask for them.
Which UK numbers you can choose
Dialpad's UK number page lists three types: geographic numbers beginning 01 or 02, mobile numbers beginning 07, and freephone numbers beginning 0800 or 0808. Its plan table says every Connect plan includes one local virtual number per user and number porting, that additional numbers (local or international) come with Pro and Enterprise but not Standard, and that SMS on UK numbers is an add-on on all three. It does not list 03 numbers, and it does not publish a price for extra numbers. Dialpad's help centre lists a standard lead time of five business days for a new UK geographic or mobile number, with no extra documents required.
That leaves four things to establish before you commit:
- The page includes one local number per user: will the company's main line need a separate number, and on which plan?
- What does an additional number cost per month, for each type?
- Are freephone numbers charged per minute for incoming calls, and at what rate?
- What will moving your existing number cost, and when will it complete? Dialpad's UK porting guide asks for a signed letter of authorisation and your latest bill from the current provider, quotes standard lead times of 22 business days for geographic and freephone numbers and 5 for mobiles, and says to contact sales about fees.
The last one is where small firms get caught out. A garage that has printed its number on the van and the website cannot switch the day the new phone system goes live. Ask for the porting steps, and keep the old line until the move completes. For set-up order, the phone set-up tutorial walks through numbers, users and hours.
Example: choosing a number type for a pest-control firm
A pest-control firm wants a number its customers recognise as local, a separate line for urgent callouts, and a freephone number for its commercial customers. Mapping that to the three listed types: a geographic 01 or 02 number as the main line (customers like a local code); a mobile 07 number for the on-call technician; a freephone 0800 or 0808 for commercial accounts. Beyond the one local number each user gets, extra numbers need Pro and carry prices the UK page does not state, so the quote must list the numbers by type. If the quote shows only "numbers included", ask how many, and which types.
A sensible test sum: if the quote adds £4 for each of two extra numbers, that is £8 a month (illustrative, not a Dialpad price), or £96 a year. Whether that is worth it depends on whether a separate callout line changes how fast you answer. If the on-call phone is already the technician's own mobile, a number that forwards there may be all you need.
Before and after: the first invoice
Before: a car repair garage budgets £12 for each of five seats and writes £60 a month in the plan. After the first invoice: the garage finds £72 including VAT, two extra numbers it had not counted, and a call-recording notice it decides to add to the front-desk greeting. The first invoice is the point where the "from" price meets the real price. Keep a one-page list of what you expected, line by line, and compare it to the invoice in week one, not at the year's end.
The consent notice is a separate matter from price; see the Dialpad recording consent checklist before you switch on recording or AI summaries for customer calls.
Prompt: turn the quote into a comparison
When two or three vendors send quotes in different shapes, an AI assistant can normalise them. Do not paste confidential details; use numbers and plan names only.
Here are three phone-system quotes for a [type of business] with [number] users.
For each, list: per-user price, whether VAT is included, numbers included,
cost of each extra number, call-minute charges, minimum term, and exit terms.
Put them in a table with the same rows for each quote.
Mark any row where the quote does not say, with "ask".
Then calculate the annual cost at 20% VAT for each, showing both
the net and gross figures.
Illustrative output: a table with "ask" in the cells for "VAT included" on two quotes, and a note that one quote counts annual billing while the other shows monthly. What you fix in it: assistants sometimes fill a missing cell with a guess. Search the output for any figure that is not in the quote text, and delete it.
What to put in the email to sales
A short email gets better answers than a long one. Send something like:
Subject: Quote request, [number] users, UK
Hello, we are a [type of business] with [number] staff.
Please quote Connect Standard for [number] users and Connect Pro for [number] users, billed [annually/monthly], in pounds.
Please state: whether prices include VAT; the number types and quantity included (01/02, 07, 0800/0808);
the price of each additional number; per-minute charges for incoming freephone calls;
the minimum term; and the notice period to leave.
We would also like to keep our existing number: what is the process and timeline?
Thanks, [your name]
Reply in writing means you can hold the vendor to the figures. If a rep prefers a call, send the email afterwards summarising what was said and ask them to confirm.
Three budgets for a five-seat garage
To make the numbers concrete, take a car repair garage with five people who need a line: two service advisers, a workshop controller, a parts buyer and the owner. Here are three budgets, using the annual-billing prices Dialpad shows in pounds. All figures are illustrative and net of VAT unless stated.
| Scenario | Seats | Monthly net | Annual net | Annual with 20% VAT |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lean: everyone on Standard | 5 x £12 | £60 | £720 | £864 |
| Middle: advisers and owner on Pro, two on Standard | 3 x £20 + 2 x £12 | £84 | £1,008 | £1,209.60 |
| Full: everyone on Pro | 5 x £20 | £100 | £1,200 | £1,440 |
On monthly billing the lean row becomes 5 x £22 = £110 a month, nearly double. The spread between lean and full is £480 a year net, which buys the CRM link, 24/7 support and the right to add extra numbers on those seats. Ask a simple question of each: would we miss it if it were not there? A garage that keeps jobs in a workshop system with no Dialpad link has no use for CRM integrations, so lean is right. A garage that does fleet work and wants every call attached to the customer record is better off in the middle row.
Remember that these are "from" prices. If the quote comes back higher, find out why before you accept it: a different billing period, a different seat count, VAT or an add-on. The quote should show each line separately.
Month to month or annual: the sum to run
Dialpad's pricing page has a Monthly and Annual toggle, and its FAQ says annual plans are the most popular because they give a discount on the regular price. In pounds the gap is large: Standard is £22 month to month against £12 on annual billing, and Pro £28 against £20. Run the sum with your own quote:
Annual saving = (monthly price x 12) - annual price
Break-even = how many months you would have to stay for the annual plan to be cheaper
If the annual plan is paid up front and you leave in month 7, you lose the unused months.
Worked through with the page's prices: on Standard the annual saving is (£22 x 12) - (£12 x 12) = £120 per seat a year, and on Pro (£28 x 12) - (£20 x 12) = £96. For five Standard seats that is £600 a year. Ask whether "annual" means paid up front or billed monthly on a twelve-month term, because that decides how much you lose if you leave early. A young firm with an unstable headcount may still pick monthly for the first six months, then move to annual when the seat count stops changing; an established firm with a steady team should take the annual price.
Seasonal staff are a third case. Dialpad's help centre describes Flex Licences: short-term seats billed monthly at list price and prorated, which admins can add or remove from the admin portal, with a removed seat staying active until the billing cycle ends. Ask whether your account can use them before you buy annual seats for a summer temp.
What sits outside the seat price
The seat price is not the bill. Before you sign, list every item that could add to it, and tick off each one as sales confirms it in writing.
- Extra numbers. Standard does not allow additional numbers, per the number page, and Pro does. Ask the price of each type.
- Texting. SMS on UK numbers is an add-on on every Connect plan, so price it if customers text you.
- Call charges. The UK page includes unlimited calls within the UK; calls to most other countries are billed per minute or covered by a Global Unlimited Calling add-on. Ask what freephone callers cost you per minute.
- Handsets. Dialpad runs on desktops, laptops, smartphones, tablets and desk phones. A desk phone is a separate purchase or rental; the app is free to install.
- Recording and retention. Whether recordings and transcripts are kept for the length you need.
- Taxes and fees. VAT, plus any regulatory or compliance charges that appear as a separate line.
- Exit. Notice period, and what happens to your numbers if you leave.
Example: a roofing company and its mobile numbers
A roofing company has four crews and one office. The owner's habit is to give every crew leader a personal mobile for customers to ring. The proposal: give each crew leader a Dialpad Standard seat at £12 and a 07 number that rings the app, so the number belongs to the business and stays when a crew leader leaves. Four seats cost £48 a month net, £57.60 with VAT.
The snag is that the number page promises "one local virtual number per user" on every plan, and a 07 mobile number is not obviously a "local" one. So the question for sales is whether each Standard seat can take a 07 number as its one number, or whether a mobile-format number counts as an additional number, which needs Pro. If a Pro seat is required, four seats cost £80 net, £96 with VAT, so the business pays £38.40 more a month with VAT to own the numbers. The value of keeping a customer's phone number when staff move on is hard to quantify, but compare it with the cost of an advertised number that rings a former employee.
The mistake of counting VAT twice
A small firm budgeted £88 a month for six seats, then added 20% VAT in its spreadsheet to get £105.60. The vendor's quote turned out to include VAT, so the real cost was £88 gross. The firm had over-budgeted by £17.60 a month. A different firm made the opposite error: it assumed the prices included VAT, then received invoices 20% higher. Both errors came from not asking. Write the VAT status next to every price in your spreadsheet: "net", "gross" or "unknown".
A first-month check list
- Day 1: make test calls to and from a mobile and a landline, in the office and on the app, and note any echo or dropouts.
- Day 2: check that voicemail reaches the right person and that the greeting names your business.
- Day 3: if you bought the SMS add-on for UK numbers, have each person send a text from their number and check it arrives.
- Week 1: compare the seat list on the admin page with the invoice line by line.
- Week 2: check which numbers are live and which are still waiting to move over.
- Week 4: compare the invoice with the budget; write down every difference and ask about it.
If something is wrong, you want to find it within the trial or the first billing cycle, while the vendor still treats you as a prospect. Dialpad's Connect trial is 14 days, per its pricing page, so run the checks inside the trial, not after.
Example: a pre-signing summary you can keep
Write one page that you could hand to a colleague. A filled-in version for the cleaning company above:
Supplier: Dialpad. Plan: Connect, 4 x Standard, 2 x Pro. Billing: annual.
Price quoted: £88 a month, stated as [net / gross / unknown - ask].
Numbers: 1 main 01/02 number; extra numbers: [ask].
Porting: existing main number moves on [date]; old line kept until [date].
Contract: [term], notice [period].
Recording: consent notice added to the greeting before switching on.
Review date: [three months after go-live].
It takes ten minutes and saves the argument six months later about what was agreed.
Cheaper ways to cover the same need
If the main need is missed calls rather than a full phone system, a forwarded number with an AI receptionist behind it may cost less than a seat per person. Dialpad's forwarding options are covered in the call-forwarding tutorial, and a head-to-head against other providers sits in the Aircall alternatives comparison. Do the sum per seat, then per answered call.
A fair test: take last month's call log, count the calls answered by a person, and divide the monthly bill by that number. A £105.60 bill over 400 answered calls is 26 pence a call; the same bill over 80 calls is £1.32. If the second figure surprises you, the system may be too big for how you work.
If you would rather go through the numbers with someone, my AI implementation consultation covers tool choice and set-up for small teams.
Dialpad UK pricing questions
Does Dialpad show prices in pounds?
Yes. With pounds selected, Dialpad's pricing page shows Connect Standard at £12 and Pro at £20 per user a month on annual billing, and £22 and £28 month to month. Its UK number page gives the same £12 and £20 starting prices. Check the live page for your plan before you sign.
Are Dialpad's UK prices inclusive of VAT?
The pages I read do not say, though Dialpad's help centre says its invoices show a Total Tax line, which suggests tax is added on top. Treat the figures as pre-VAT until a quote or invoice shows otherwise, and ask sales to state it. A VAT-registered business can usually reclaim the tax; ask an accountant about your own position.
Can I get a 0800 or 07 number?
Dialpad's UK number page lists geographic numbers (01 or 02), mobile numbers (07) and freephone numbers (0800 or 0808). It says every Connect plan includes one local number per user and that additional numbers need Pro or Enterprise. It does not list 03 numbers, so confirm the types you want before signing.
Can I keep my existing UK number?
Yes. Dialpad's UK porting guide covers geographic, freephone and mobile numbers, asks for a signed letter of authorisation and your latest bill from the current provider, and gives standard lead times of 22 business days for geographic and freephone numbers and 5 for mobiles. Keep the old line live until the move completes.
Is there a free trial in the UK?
Yes. Dialpad's UK number page describes a 14-day free trial of Connect that includes the full phone system, so you can test routing, voicemail and AI transcription before you buy. Use it to test call quality from your real premises.
Further reads
- AI Tools and AI Development: The Complete 2026 Guide — the AI hub, including every tutorial in the AI-for-business series.
Sources: Dialpad's UK virtual phone number page, its pricing page with pounds selected, and its help-centre articles on UK porting, UK number requirements, invoices and Flex Licences; GOV.UK pages on VAT rates and reclaiming VAT (all read 5 November 2026). VAT treatment was not stated on Dialpad's pages.