HoneyBook or Dubsado for a Wedding Photographer? Costs and AI Compared

Coding Liquids tutorial cover featuring Sagnik Bhattacharya for HoneyBook or Dubsado for a Wedding Photographer? Costs and AI Compared.
Coding Liquids tutorial cover featuring Sagnik Bhattacharya for HoneyBook or Dubsado for a Wedding Photographer? Costs and AI Compared.

For most wedding photographers, Dubsado is the cheaper tool on paper ($335 or $525 a year), while HoneyBook costs $29, $49 or $109 a month billed yearly but names AI features on every plan. Choose HoneyBook if you want built-in AI drafts and notes. Choose Dubsado if you want lower cost and deep automation, and use a separate assistant for writing.

Both do the same core job: take an enquiry, send a proposal and contract, collect payments, and run a workflow from booking through the gallery. The differences that matter for a photographer sit in the plan limits, the automation you will actually use, and a gap in AI. Most comparisons you will find are written by one of the two vendors, so run your own numbers: a three-year cost, a plan-for-plan match and a trial that tests the jobs you do every week.

Follow me on Instagram@sagnikteaches

Prices side by side, and what each year really costs

All figures are USD list prices from each vendor's pricing pages in October 2026. They can change, and promotions are excluded.

Connect on LinkedInSagnik Bhattacharya
PlanBillingPriceCost per year
HoneyBook StarterYearly$29 a month$348
HoneyBook StarterMonthly$36 a month$432
HoneyBook EssentialsYearly$49 a month$588
HoneyBook EssentialsMonthly$59 a month$708
HoneyBook PremiumYearly$109 a month$1,308
HoneyBook PremiumMonthly$129 a month$1,548
Dubsado StarterYearly$335 a year$335
Dubsado StarterMonthly$35 a month$420
Dubsado PremierYearly$525 a year$525
Dubsado PremierMonthly$55 a month$660

Dubsado's page shows both monthly and annual prices, and says choosing annual saves two months' worth. HoneyBook's yearly prices apply when you commit for a year; its monthly-billing prices come from its machine-readable pricing file, last verified on 6 October 2026. Three years on the like-for-like plans: Dubsado Premier costs $1,575; HoneyBook Essentials on yearly billing costs $1,764. The gap is about $189 over three years, or about $5 a month. That is real but small, so don't let it decide the question alone.

Subscribe on YouTube@sagnikteaches

The bigger swing is the top tier. HoneyBook Premium at $1,308 a year is only worth it if you need unlimited team members, unlimited lead forms, multiple companies or priority support. A solo wedding photographer rarely does. Dubsado adds users instead: three additional users are free, 4 to 10 users cost $25 a month, and each additional brand costs $10 a month.

Matching the plans, feature by feature

Plan names mislead, so match by what you will use. The table is limited to what each vendor's page states.

Feature a photographer usesHoneyBookDubsado
Proposals, contracts, invoices, paymentsAll plansBoth plans (public proposals on Premier only)
Client portal, templates, calendarAll plansBoth plans
Lead capture formsStarter up to 2, Essentials up to 10, Premium unlimitedStarter 1 active form, Premier unlimited
SchedulerEssentials and aboveAdvanced scheduling on Premier
Automations (workflows)Essentials and aboveAutomated workflows on Premier
Accounting integrationQuickBooks Online on EssentialsBookkeeping integration on Premier
ZapierNot stated on the pricing pagePremier only
Team membersEssentials up to 2, Premium unlimited3 extra free, then $25 a month for 4 to 10
Removing "Powered by" brandingEssentials and aboveNot stated on the pricing page
AI featuresHoneyBook AI on all plansNone named on the pricing page

The practical match is Dubsado Starter against HoneyBook Starter (no automations on either) and Dubsado Premier against HoneyBook Essentials (both with automations and scheduling). A wedding photographer's workflow lives on automations: enquiry reply, booking confirmation, questionnaire, balance reminder, gallery delivery, review request. So the realistic comparison for most photographers is the Premier and Essentials row, not the Starter one.

The workflow a photographer should test

Use the free trials to build one real workflow, end to end, in each tool. Dubsado gives 21 days of full Premier access with no credit card, and HoneyBook says new accounts start with a free trial (its FAQ says 30 days, no card). Use the time to run this test:

  1. Lead form. Build an enquiry form with wedding date, venue, guest count and how they found you.
  2. Auto-reply. Set up an instant reply with your brochure and a link to book a call.
  3. Proposal and contract. Create a package with a deposit and balance, and send it to a friend to sign.
  4. Payment schedule. A 30% deposit now, the balance 4 weeks before the wedding, with reminders.
  5. Post-wedding workflow. A gallery-ready email and a review request seven days later.

Time each step and note every moment you got stuck or had to search the help centre. A realistic mistake: a photographer builds beautiful templates in the first week, then discovers in month two that the platform cannot send the balance reminder the way she wants, after paying for a year. Run the awkward steps in the trial, not the easy ones.

A sample sum for a 24-wedding season

An illustrative photographer shoots 24 weddings a year at an average of $3,200 and takes about 60 enquiries. She expects to need the scheduler, automations and two team members (her assistant and herself). On HoneyBook, Essentials at $588 a year covers that; Dubsado Premier at $525 also covers it, with the assistant free as an extra user. The software costs about 0.8% and 0.7% of her $76,800 of bookings respectively. Payment processing fees, not the subscription, are the larger item: at roughly 3% on card payments of $76,800 the fee runs to about $2,300 a year if every client paid by card, so compare processing rates and ask clients to pay by bank transfer where the platform offers it. Neither Dubsado's pricing page nor HoneyBook's pricing table gives a single clean fee figure (HoneyBook's own pages disagree), so check the live rates for your account.

Where AI makes a difference, and where it does not

HoneyBook's product page lists these AI features: drafting emails in your tone, generating meeting notes and to-dos, prioritising tasks, capturing leads with predictive alerts, summarising projects, an AI chat, AI-assisted file creation, business trends, lead enrichment and follow-up suggestions. HoneyBook's help centre says the email drafts can appear automatically when a new lead arrives or when you share a smart file, can be switched off in company settings, and do not yet work in bulk emails, the client workspace or automations.

For a photographer, three of those are useful:

  • A first reply drafted as the enquiry lands. You edit, add your portfolio link and send.
  • Meeting notes from a discovery call. Couples rarely repeat themselves, and notes about family dynamics help you on the day. Always tell the couple if you record or transcribe a call.
  • Follow-up suggestions. A nudge to re-contact an old lead before the next season.

Dubsado's pricing page mentions no AI features, and I did not look beyond that page, so verify Dubsado's current release notes and help centre before deciding. That doesn't leave a Dubsado user stuck: a general assistant can draft the same emails if you give it the enquiry details. The tutorial on what to use alongside Dubsado for AI client admin sets out options, and handling client emails with AI as a photographer shows the prompts. The cost: copying and pasting between tools, and no access to your client record unless you paste it in.

An illustrative reply, and what to fix

Whichever tool writes it, a draft first reply to an enquiry might read: "Hi [first name], thank you for thinking of us for your wedding on 14 June. We'd love to hear more. Our wedding collections start at [price]. Would a 15-minute call on Thursday suit you?" The fixes: replace "[price]" with your real starting figure or delete it, because AI must not invent a price; confirm the date is free before saying anything encouraging; and add one specific comment about their venue or style so it doesn't read like a form letter.

Which one for which photographer

Your situationLean towardsWhy
Solo, price-sensitive, comfortable building workflowsDubsado PremierLowest like-for-like cost with automations and Zapier
Solo, wants drafts and notes without extra toolsHoneyBook EssentialsAI is on every plan; fewer tools to juggle
Studio with an assistant and a second shooterEither; check team limitsHoneyBook Essentials allows two team members; Dubsado gives three extra users free
Just starting, one or two weddings bookedHoneyBook Starter or Dubsado StarterUpgrade when you need automations
Several brands, such as weddings and portraitsDubsado, at $10 a month per extra brandCheap extra brands; HoneyBook Premium offers multiple companies at much higher cost

This isn't a ranking of which software is better in general. Several photographers who are happy with one would be equally happy with the other once they've built their workflow. The best predictor of satisfaction is whether you can build your own workflow in the trial in an afternoon.

A wedding-season workflow, step by step, in either tool

Most of the value in both products is the automation, so it helps to write it out before you pay. Here is an illustrative timeline for one booking, with the trigger and delay for each message. It works in HoneyBook Essentials or Dubsado Premier, because both list automations and scheduling at those tiers.

WhenTriggerWhat goes outAI help
Minutes after enquiryForm submittedAuto-reply with link to book a callDraft the wording once
Day 3No replyShort nudge with one portfolio galleryDraft, then personalise by hand
On bookingContract signed and deposit paidThank-you and questionnaireDraft the questionnaire
12 weeks beforeDate-basedTimeline and family-photo list requestTurn the list into a checklist
4 weeks beforeDate-basedBalance invoice and reminderNone; keep the wording fixed
Day beforeDate-basedShort logistics noteDraft, check venue details
After the weddingDate-basedPreview promise, then gallery link, then review requestDraft each, edit tone

Notice that HoneyBook's AI email drafts do not currently run inside automations, according to its help centre, so every automated message above is a template you write once. Whichever tool you choose, use AI to write those templates carefully, then leave them alone. The AI draft feature is for the replies that need to be one-off.

Prompt for writing a template once

I'm a wedding photographer. Write a 120-word email to send 4 weeks before the wedding saying the balance invoice is attached and due in 7 days. Warm, short paragraphs. Include one sentence offering to answer questions. Don't include a price or any dates; use [bracket] placeholders.

A typical output reads well but adds "we can't wait to capture your special day", a line that sounds like every photographer's email. The fix is to delete the cliché and replace it with something that sounds like you, for example a one-line reminder of the first dance song they chose. Do this for each template once and your automation sounds human for the whole season.

Questionnaire and contract points that tools cannot fix for you

Neither product will tell you what to ask or what to promise. Two illustrations of work that stays with you:

  • Family group shots. A questionnaire that asks for the names of the ten family groups wanted, with who should stand where, saves 30 minutes on the day and avoids arguments. AI can format it, but you decide the list.
  • Delivery promises. Whether you promise a gallery within six weeks or twelve is a contract term and a commitment. Do not let an AI draft set it, and ask a qualified adviser to review your contract wording, because rules differ by place.

An illustrative mistake: a photographer pastes a draft contract from an AI assistant into her template without review. It includes a clause giving the couple "unlimited reshoots". She notices after one client invokes it. The fix is to keep contract text in a template written or checked by an adviser, and to let AI draft only the friendly parts around it. For more on this topic with Claude, see Claude for photographers: contracts, emails and captions tested.

What else costs money besides the subscription

  • Payment processing. The largest ongoing cost, as shown above. Compare live rates and payout timing.
  • Extra users and brands. Dubsado charges $25 a month for 4 to 10 users and $10 a month per extra brand; HoneyBook limits team members by plan.
  • Integrations. Dubsado lists Zapier on Premier; any Zapier plan you need is a separate cost.
  • Your setup time. Plan on roughly 10 to 15 hours to build forms, templates and workflows in either, and value that at your hourly rate.
  • A second tool for AI. If you pick Dubsado and want AI drafts, add the cost of an assistant plan.

Add these to the subscription for each product, then compare totals, not headlines. In the illustrative season above, the subscription difference of about $63 a year is smaller than the setup time for either tool, which is why the trial matters more than the price.

A part-time photographer and a busy studio: two quick walk-throughs

An illustrative part-time photographer shoots 8 weddings a year alongside a day job and takes about 20 enquiries. She needs a contract, a deposit and one balance reminder, and she writes each email herself on a Sunday. At 8 weddings, the cheapest plan in either product covers the job: Dubsado Starter at $335 a year or HoneyBook Starter at $348 billed yearly. AI saves her little, because she writes only a few emails. The sensible move is to start on a Starter plan and upgrade at the first season she wants automations.

An illustrative busy studio shoots 45 weddings with a second shooter and an editor, takes 150 enquiries, and sends the same eight emails to every client. Here automation is the product, and team limits matter: HoneyBook Essentials stops at two team members and Premium costs $1,308 a year, while Dubsado Premier plus a few paid users stays under $1,000. The studio also feels the AI gap most, since 150 first replies at even four minutes saved each is 10 hours a year. If that studio picks Dubsado, it should budget for an assistant plan alongside it and compare the total with HoneyBook Premium before signing.

Switching costs and how to avoid being locked in

Whichever you choose, treat your data as portable. Keep your contracts as PDFs in your own storage, keep your client list in a spreadsheet you update monthly, and write your workflow down as a one-page list of steps and delays. If you later switch, you can rebuild from the list rather than from memory. A year is a long time to be unhappy with a tool because the exit looked painful.

Don't commit to annual billing until you've completed one full booking in the tool. HoneyBook's yearly prices are lower, but yearly billing is the one commitment that stings if you change your mind. If you want to see how HoneyBook's AI performs against a general assistant on proposals and emails, the test described in HoneyBook AI vs ChatGPT for wedding planners works equally well for photographers.

A short decision list

  1. Write the workflow you want, from enquiry to review request, in ten lines.
  2. Decide whether you need automations and a scheduler. If yes, compare HoneyBook Essentials and Dubsado Premier.
  3. Run both trials in the same fortnight, with the same workflow.
  4. Check payment processing fees and payout timing in each.
  5. Score AI value honestly: if you would pay a general assistant anyway, HoneyBook's AI saves you little. If you do not, it is a real benefit.
  6. Pick one, and set a date three months out to review.

If you want help weighing the sums for your own bookings, that is the kind of thing my AI implementation consultation covers, and you can reach me here.

HoneyBook and Dubsado questions photographers ask

Which is cheaper for a wedding photographer, HoneyBook or Dubsado?

On annual billing Dubsado is cheaper: Starter is $335 a year and Premier is $525, against HoneyBook at $348, $588 and $1,308 a year for Starter, Essentials and Premium. The fair match is Dubsado Premier with HoneyBook Essentials, because both bring automations and scheduling. Payment processing fees also count, so compare them separately.

Does Dubsado have AI features?

Dubsado's pricing page doesn't mention any. HoneyBook lists HoneyBook AI on all plans. Features may have changed since I checked, so read Dubsado's current pages and release notes, and use a general assistant such as ChatGPT or Claude for drafting if you choose Dubsado.

Is there a free trial for either?

Yes. Dubsado's pricing page offers 21 days of full Premier access with no credit card. HoneyBook says all plans start with a free trial and its FAQ states 30 days with no card. Confirm both on the live pages before you start the clock.

How hard is it to switch later?

Contacts, templates and files can usually be rebuilt, but automations and proposals rarely transfer cleanly. Budget a weekend per hundred active clients, and export your client list, contracts and invoices before you cancel anything.

Further reads

Sources: HoneyBook pricing page, its machine-readable pricing file (last verified 6 October 2026) and HoneyBook AI product page; Dubsado pricing page (checked October 2026). USD list prices, which can change.

Want your studio's client workflow chosen with the sums done?

On a 1:1 call we'll map your enquiry-to-gallery steps, work out which software features you would use, and decide where AI belongs in the routine.

Book a 1:1 call with me