Free AI Tool to Create an Advertisement: Five Options for Local Shops

Coding Liquids tutorial cover featuring Sagnik Bhattacharya for Free AI Tool to Create an Advertisement: Five Options for Local Shops.
Coding Liquids tutorial cover featuring Sagnik Bhattacharya for Free AI Tool to Create an Advertisement: Five Options for Local Shops.

Canva, Adobe Express, ChatGPT, the Gemini app and Ideogram can each make a shop advertisement for free, but each free tier has a catch: Canva allows up to 20 AI uses a month, free Gemini images carry a visible watermark and Ideogram's free images are public. Check commercial-use terms and pixel size before printing.

Three things decide whether a free tool is usable for a shop: the licence on what it makes, the number of pixels in the file, and the marks it leaves behind. Most tools pass one or two. The set-up that works for a small shop is therefore two tools in tandem, one to make the picture and one to set the words and prices on top, so a swapped letter in the artwork can never end up in the price.

Follow me on Instagram@sagnikteaches

Three checks that decide whether a free tool is usable

Put every tool through the same three questions before you build a poster around it. They take about ten minutes the first time and are worth repeating whenever a vendor changes its plans, which happens often.

Connect on LinkedInSagnik Bhattacharya

Check 1: who may use the picture, and for what

Look for three answers on the vendor's terms or pricing page: may free-plan output be used commercially, who owns it, and are free-plan images public by default. The wording differs from tool to tool. OpenAI's terms say you own the output and that OpenAI assigns you its rights in it "if any". Canva's AI terms say you own your output except where it modifies or incorporates library content that Canva licenses to you separately. Ideogram's pricing page says it does not claim ownership of generated images and that you can use them for any purpose, commercial use included. Google's terms of service say that where a service lets you generate original content, Google won't claim ownership of it.

Subscribe on YouTube@sagnikteaches

Each of those lines settles what the vendor will claim. None settles whether copyright protects an AI-made picture, which is a question for an adviser, and both OpenAI and Canva warn that outputs may not be unique, so a rival shop can receive something similar. Write the answers down with the date. A filled-in log sits near the end.

Check 2: enough pixels for the paper

Print sharpness depends on pixels per inch (ppi) at the final size. Printers often ask for about 300 ppi for items people hold and accept less for large posters read from a few metres away, so ask yours for its specification. The table shows the pixels each common shop format needs, and what a 1,024-pixel image gives you when it is stretched along the long edge.

FormatPaper sizePixels needed at 300 ppiPixels needed at 150 ppiWhat a 1,024-pixel image gives
A6 flyer or shelf card105 x 148 mm1,240 x 1,748620 x 874about 176 ppi
A5 till flyer148 x 210 mm1,748 x 2,480874 x 1,240about 124 ppi
A4 poster210 x 297 mm2,480 x 3,5081,240 x 1,754about 88 ppi
A3 window poster297 x 420 mm3,508 x 4,9611,754 x 2,480about 62 ppi
Social post, 4:5 portraitscreen only1,080 x 1,3501,080 x 1,350a little under 1,080 wide, which Instagram keeps as it is

The pattern is plain. A free AI picture is big enough for social posts and small flyers and falls short on anything from A4 upwards. Google's help page describes free Gemini downloads as 1K; I read that as roughly a thousand pixels on the long side, so check the file properties after you download. Instagram's help page says photos are uploaded at up to 1,080 pixels wide, and that any width from 320 to 1,080 pixels is kept at its original resolution for shapes between 1.91:1 landscape and 3:4 portrait. A 4:5 post at 1,080 by 1,350 sits inside that range (my arithmetic, not a figure from that page).

There are three ways to close the gap for print. Use the AI picture only as a soft background, where a little blur does no harm. Upscale it with an AI upscaler such as Upscayl, a free, open-source desktop app, then inspect the result at 100 per cent, because upscalers invent detail and can scramble faces and small lettering. Or choose a smaller paper size. The wider print-side basics are in designing printed flyers with AI.

Check 3: the marks left on the file

There are two kinds. Visible marks are logos or symbols in a corner, and they ruin a printed poster, so open every download at full size and look at all four corners. Free Gemini images have one. Google's Gemini image page says its pictures carry a visible watermark as well as SynthID, an invisible one, and Google's November 2025 image-model announcement said the visible Gemini sparkle stays on images made by free and Google AI Pro users. Cropping or covering that mark to pass the picture off as unmarked defeats its purpose, so for print, pick a tool whose free output has no visible mark. Hidden marks are provenance data. Adobe's generative AI guidelines say Adobe may attach Content Credentials to AI-made content and that you must not remove, alter or disable them, and Canva's AI terms forbid removing provenance or metadata tags such as C2PA. Leave hidden marks alone. They do not show on paper, and tampering with them breaks the tools' terms.

Option 1: Canva, for layout, brand colours and the print file

Canva is the tool most shops half-know already, and its main job here is layout rather than picture-making. Its pricing page lists, for the Free plan, up to 20 "Standard or Premium" AI uses, no access to Ultra AI tools, one Brand Kit limited to three colours and 5GB of storage. Pro is listed at $144 a year for one person. Treat the 20 as one pool shared by every AI feature, not as 20 pictures. The figure carries a footnote on the page, so read it on your own account before you plan around it. How Canva's allowance compares with Buffer, Mailchimp and Metricool is set out in free AI marketing software plan limits.

The licence has two layers. The AI product terms let you use output for any lawful purpose at your own risk and suggest taking professional advice before commercial use. The Content License Agreement lets Free library content go into advertising and promotional projects, printed materials included, but Pro content needs a licence, which the agreement says a free user obtains by paying. Dropping a Pro-only element into a free design is the usual way a shop ends up with a poster it has not licensed.

For a shop I would start in four steps.

  1. Set the Brand Kit's three colours to the ones on your shopfront and receipts.
  2. Start from an A3 or A4 poster template, delete the placeholder photo and use the template for layout only.
  3. Type the price, dates and address as live text. Never leave them inside an AI picture.
  4. Download the highest-quality PDF option your plan offers, then print one copy at actual size on the office printer before ordering a run.

The trap to watch is the logo. A pet shop that builds its logo from two paw graphics in Canva's library plus a headline font will, months later, want that logo on carrier bags and a fascia sign. Section 9 of the content agreement does not allow library content to be used as part of a trade mark, design mark, business name or service mark (fonts are excluded), so the logo has to be redrawn from original artwork. Better to learn that before the sign is ordered.

Option 2: Adobe Express, for styled headlines and cleaned-up photos

Adobe Express suits the owner who wants layout and AI on one screen. Its pricing page shows the Free plan at $0 with no monthly credit allowance. Instead it lists free daily generations for images, text effects and templates and for inserting and removing objects, without printing a number, plus lifetime caps of 5 uses of Generate Presentations and 2 uses of 5-second video. Free includes 5GB of storage. Premium is $9.99 a month and adds 250 generative credits a month, brand kits, one-click Resize and a 30-day trial.

Adobe's licence wording is explicit. The pricing page describes its generative features as designed to be commercially safe, powered by Adobe Firefly, and its FAQ says that in general you may use outputs from generative AI features commercially, except for beta features that Adobe designates as personal use only. Read "commercially safe" as a statement about how Firefly was trained, not as a promise to cover your shop: Adobe's IP indemnity is for enterprise customers only, and partner models inside the Firefly app sit outside its training claim. So leave beta-labelled features out of anything you print.

Take an optician with a good photo of its frame wall, a handwritten price sticker in shot and an end-of-season poster to make. In Adobe Express the sequence is short. Remove the sticker with the remove-object tool. Style the headline END OF LINE FRAMES with a text effect. Add a plain colour tint behind it rather than a generated scene, because the real photograph is the product. Then zoom to 100 per cent along the frame edges, since object removal can smear a neighbouring frame, and compare every frame shape with the original. An optician must show frames as they are, so an edit that changes one has to be redone. All of this sits inside the free daily generations, not a credit pool.

Option 3: ChatGPT's free plan, for the words and a first picture

ChatGPT earns its place for the part of an advert most owners find hardest, the wording. The pricing page lists "limited image creation" for the Free plan and puts no number on it, so treat pictures as a bonus. The terms say you own the output (OpenAI assigns its rights "if any"), warn that other users may receive similar output, and forbid presenting output as human-generated when it was not. In practice: do not caption an AI picture "hand-drawn by our team". A fuller brief to paste in first is laid out in one ad brief turned into five formats.

The prompt below keeps the model on a short lead. The offer sits in the brief so that it cannot be improvised, and the last line forbids invented extras.

You are writing a shop-window advert for a small pet shop.
Offer: collect ten stamps on dog or cat food bags, get the eleventh bag free
(same brand and size, one per customer, ends 30 November).
Tone: friendly and plain, no exclamation marks.
Give me eight headlines of at most six words, then one line of small print
of at most 25 words.
Do not add any offer, discount or claim that is not in the brief.

Here is the kind of reply to expect (illustrative, not a real output).

1. Ten stamps, one free bag
2. Your eleventh bag is on us
3. Collect ten, take one home free
4. Loyal dogs eat free
5. Free food for life, ten stamps at a time
6. Bag ten. Bag eleven is ours.
7. Stamp, stamp, free bag
8. The tenth stamp pays off
Small print: One free bag per customer, same brand and size as stamped bags,
offer ends 30 November, while stock lasts.

Four lines need fixing before anything is printed. Headlines 4 and 5 promise more than the offer ("eat free", "free food for life"). Headline 8 reads as if the reward arrives at ten stamps rather than eleven. And "while stock lasts" is a condition the owner never agreed, which the model added despite the instruction. Headlines 1, 2 and 6 survive. Check each line against the offer you actually wrote, and treat the model's confident tone as no evidence of accuracy.

For the picture, ask for a background rather than the finished advert: "a warm photographic close-up of a paper stamp card beside a shop counter, soft daylight, empty space across the top third, no text, no logos, no brand names". Asking for no brand names matters because a generated food bag carries invented packaging, and your customers know what the real one looks like.

Option 4: the Gemini app, for editing a photo you took yourself

The Gemini app's image help page says you can upload your own image and ask for edits, generate from a template or prompt, and add text to images "with more accurate spelling". Free users download at 1K, against 2K with a Google AI plan, and a daily quota applies that the page gives no number for. Google's overview page credits the free image model with 2K, so the two pages disagree; check the pixel size of the file you actually get. Editing images is not available to users under 18. The page does not address commercial use and tells you to use your discretion before you rely on or publish what the app generates, while Google's general terms say it won't claim ownership of original content you generate. The visible sparkle described in the checks above is the bigger limit for print, so find it on your first download before you plan a layout around Gemini.

Its best use for a shop is editing a real photograph for a social post, where a small mark in the corner is easier to live with than on a window poster, rather than inventing a scene. Ask it to tidy the background, remove clutter or change the light, and keep the products exactly as photographed. The limits of free AI for product pictures are covered in free AI product photoshoot limits.

A realistic failure shows why. A pet shop photographs its window display and asks for the cardboard boxes at the left edge to be removed. The edit comes back clean, except that the lettering on one food bag has turned into near-words that are not the brand printed on the real pack. The advert now shows a product that does not exist. Three habits prevent this. Put "do not change any packaging or text" in the instruction. Compare every label with the original at 100 per cent. If one has changed, place the original product cut-out over the edited background in your layout tool.

Option 5: Ideogram, when the words have to sit inside the picture

Ideogram is the one to try when the design needs lettering built into the artwork, such as a hand-lettered sign look. Its pricing page prints no free allowance: it says eligible free accounts receive weekly credits when they sign in with Google, Apple or Microsoft, and that the amount may vary. Plus is $20 a month ($15 a month billed yearly) with 2,400 priority credits, and Pro is $60 a month ($42 billed yearly). The FAQ says Ideogram does not claim ownership of your images and that you are free to use them for any purpose, commercial use included.

Two other FAQ lines matter to a shop. By default every image on Ideogram is published, and only Plus and Pro subscribers can generate unpublished images. So an unreleased offer, or a photo of a customer, should never go into a free Ideogram account. And editing with AI and image reference need priority credits, which the slow queue does not include, so a free account is for generating from a prompt, not for reworking your own photos.

Run a spelling test before committing. Prompt for your real headline plus one long decoy word, for instance OPEN LATE THURSDAYS beside GERANIUMS, and read every letter of the result. Image models can swap or double letters in longer words, and a poster that says THUSRDAYS looks careless from across the street. If the test fails twice, switch to the safer pattern from the start: a text-free picture here, and the words typed as live text in Canva or Adobe Express.

A free plan that looks fine and is not: Recraft

Recraft shows up in searches for free ad tools, so it needs a warning. Its pricing page says images generated on the Free plan are publicly visible in the community gallery, are not licensed for commercial use and are owned by Recraft. A shop poster is commercial use, so the free plan is out. The page also names paid plans (Basic, Pro and Teams); I could not read prices from it, so look at the live page if you consider upgrading. If you already hold a free Recraft account, treat anything in it as unusable for the shop.

I left Microsoft Designer off the list for a plain reason. I could not find a current Microsoft page that states its free allowance and commercial terms in one place, and Microsoft's own community answers quote different credit figures. If you already use it, read its terms against the three checks before you rely on it.

Free allowances side by side

As of October 2026, this is what the vendors' own pages said. Quotes are shortened, and every row should be re-read on the day you use it.

ToolFree allowanceOutput rightsFile and marks to check
CanvaUp to 20 Standard or Premium AI uses; no Ultra toolsYou own output apart from library content; any lawful purpose at your riskPro-only elements need a licence; C2PA tags must stay
Adobe ExpressFree daily generations, number not printed; no monthly creditsOutputs generally usable commercially, except beta features marked personal useContent Credentials must stay; beta labels
ChatGPT"Limited image creation"You own output, assigned "if any"; may not be uniqueDo not describe AI output as human-made
Gemini appDaily quota, number not printed; 1K downloadsGoogle won't claim ownership of content you generate; image help page silent on commercial useVisible watermark on free images; SynthID inside
IdeogramWeekly credits, amount variesIdeogram claims no ownership; commercial use allowedImages published by default on free accounts

One bulb offer as an A3 poster, an A5 flyer and a social post

Say a garden centre wants one offer in three formats: any three bags of tulip bulbs for the price of two. A bag costs $6.50, so three bags normally cost $19.50 and the offer price is $13.00, a $6.50 saving. The figures are made up to show the workflow, and the times are my estimates for a first attempt by someone new to these tools. A weekly-offer version of the same routine is in the supermarket poster walkthrough.

StepToolTimeFree allowance used
1. Offer wording and a picture briefChatGPT Free10 minOne chat
2. Text-free background picture, tulip bulbs in a crateAdobe Express Free15 minFour of the free daily generations
3. Add pixels for printUpscayl on the desktop5 minNone
4. A3 layout with live textCanva Free25 minNo AI uses
5. Proof on the office printer, read aloudPrinter and a colleague15 minNone
6. A5 flyer and 4:5 social postCanva Free15 minNo AI uses

The sum that drives step 3: an A3 poster at 150 ppi needs 1,754 by 2,480 pixels, so the picture needs about 2,480 pixels on its long side. Say the generated picture comes out at about 1,024 pixels on its long side, a common size for free AI output (check the file properties, because sizes vary by tool and model). It then has to grow by a factor of about 2.4. At 300 ppi the factor would be 4.8, which is why I would not chase 300 ppi on a window poster. The A5 flyer at 300 ppi needs 1,748 by 2,480, the same 2.4 times. The social post needs no upscaling at all, because Instagram keeps any width from 320 to 1,080 pixels at its original resolution.

The prompt for step 2 reads: "A close-up photograph of tulip bulbs in a wooden crate, soft autumn light, shallow depth of field, empty dark space across the top third, no text, no people, no logos." Four tries is realistic; the first usually has the right mood and the wrong crate. Adobe Express gets this job rather than the Gemini app because a window poster cannot carry Gemini's visible sparkle. Pick one, upscale it, then inspect at 100 per cent for melted bulbs and odd shadows.

In step 4, put the picture full-bleed behind everything, extend it 3 mm beyond the trim line if your printer asks for bleed, and keep the headline, the $13.00 price, the dates and the address as live text inside the safe margin. Only the picture's pixel count matters, because the lettering stays sharp at any size.

The cost in free allowance is zero Canva AI uses, and that matters because Canva's pool is 20. If each usable picture took four tries and every try counted as one use, the pool would give you five pictures a month. Splitting the work (words in ChatGPT, picture in Adobe Express, layout in Canva) keeps Canva's pool free for a one-off background fill or an edit when you need one. Total effort is about 85 minutes the first time. Once the A3 layout exists, the next offer is a copy with new words and a new picture, nearer 30 minutes.

Which pair of tools suits which shop

Shop and jobStart withWhyLimit to plan around
Optician: end-of-line frames poster from a real photoAdobe Express aloneText effects and object removal in one tool, and the product stays realDaily free generations; brand kits and Resize are Premium
Pet shop: loyalty-card offerChatGPT for words, Canva for layoutThe wording is the hard part; layout needs live textChatGPT's limited image creation; Canva's 20 uses
Garden centre: seasonal offer in three sizesAdobe Express for the picture, Canva for layoutLarge background with no visible mark, text kept out of the imageDaily free generations; upscale for A3
Any shop: tidying a real photo for an Instagram postGemini appEdits your own photo and keeps the product realVisible sparkle; 1K downloads; no editing for under-18s
Any shop wanting a lettered sign lookIdeogram, then a layout toolLettering inside the artworkPublic images on free accounts; spelling test

The proof stage: eight checks before the printer sees the file

An AI advert fails in ways a hand-made one does not, so the proof deserves its own routine. Do these in order and tick them off on a printed copy. A shorter version for social posts lives in the pre-publish checklist for AI-drafted posts.

  1. Read the price aloud. Compare it with the shelf label or till, digit by digit, including the decimal point.
  2. Check every date and day name against a calendar. A model can print a Thursday that is not a Thursday.
  3. Open the picture at 100 per cent. Look at hands, edges of objects, small lettering and anything that looks melted.
  4. Look at all four corners for a visible watermark, sparkle or logo.
  5. Compare product shots with the real product. If the advert shows what a customer will not receive, replace it with your own photograph.
  6. Scan any QR code from the printed proof with two phones and confirm it lands on the right page.
  7. Look for lookalikes. AI pictures can echo a famous character, a competitor's pack or a recognisable person. If anything looks familiar, regenerate.
  8. Print at actual size and view it from the distance a passer-by would, about two metres for a window poster.

A one-line licence log for every advert

Terms change without notice, and a plan that allowed something in October may not in March. A one-line record per advert costs two minutes and settles any later argument about which terms you relied on. Here is a filled-in example (illustrative dates and adverts).

DateAdvertTool and planCommercial use?Public images?Visible mark?
28 OctBulb offer, A3 poster pictureAdobe Express, freeGenerally allowed; no beta feature usedNot statedCorners checked: none; Content Credentials left intact
28 OctBulb offer, A3 layoutCanva, freeFree library content allowed in print advertisingNot statedNo Pro elements used
30 OctLoyalty card headlinesChatGPT, freeOutput assigned to us "if any"Not applicableNot applicable
2 NovFrame wall posterAdobe Express, freeGenerally allowed; no beta feature usedNot statedContent Credentials left intact
4 NovWindow display photo, tidied for InstagramGemini app, freeHelp page silent; Google terms make no ownership claimNot statedGemini sparkle present: social use only, never print

Keep the log in the same folder as the final PDF and the printed proof, so each advert has one place holding what was sent, what was checked and which terms applied. If a vendor's wording shifts later, you can see at a glance which adverts relied on the old version and re-check only those.

Free AI advert questions from shop owners

Can a shop use free AI images on a printed window poster?

Usually yes, if the tool's terms allow commercial use, so read them first. Canva, ChatGPT and Ideogram say you may use or own the output, and Adobe says outputs may generally be used commercially. Recraft's free plan is the exception: its images are public and not licensed for commercial use. None of them promises a picture is unique, so keep a dated note of the terms you checked.

Will a free AI image print sharply at A4 or A3?

Rarely on its own. A 1,024-pixel image stretched along an A4 long edge gives about 88 pixels per inch, and about 62 on A3. Use it as a soft background, upscale it with a tool such as Upscayl and inspect the result at 100 per cent, or keep AI pictures for social posts and small flyers, where free-plan sizes are enough.

How many adverts does Canva's free AI allowance cover?

Canva's pricing page gives Free up to 20 Standard or Premium AI uses a month, with a footnote on the figure. If a usable picture takes about four tries and each try counts as one use, that is roughly five pictures a month. Read the footnote and watch the counter on your own account to see how a generation is counted.

Should I remove an AI watermark or metadata from an advert?

Leave hidden provenance data alone. Adobe's guidelines say you must not remove, alter or disable Content Credentials, and Canva's AI terms forbid removing provenance tags such as C2PA metadata. A visible mark in a corner, such as the sparkle on free Gemini images, is a different problem because it can ruin a poster. Check each download at full size and, if one appears, choose another plan or tool.

What does paying change for these five tools?

On the pages I checked, Canva Pro lists at $144 a year, Adobe Express Premium at $9.99 a month with 250 generative credits, and Ideogram Plus at $20 a month ($15 a month billed yearly) with 2,400 priority credits and the option to keep images unpublished. ChatGPT and Gemini plans change often, so read their pricing pages before you decide.

Further reads

Sources: Canva pricing page, AI product terms and Content License Agreement; Adobe Express pricing page and Generative AI User Guidelines; Google's Gemini Apps help page on image generation, Gemini image-generation overview and November 2025 image-model announcement, and Google's Terms of Service; OpenAI Terms of Use and ChatGPT pricing page; Ideogram pricing page and FAQ; Recraft pricing page; Instagram Help Centre on photo sizes; Upscayl website.

Want a repeatable advert routine for your shop?

On a 1:1 call we can look at how you make posters and posts today, pick the free or paid tools that fit your licence and print needs, and set up a routine your team can run without you.

Book a 1:1 call with me