For an independent midwife, the right software is one that charts antenatal, labour and postnatal care (offline if you attend home births), takes consent and bookings through a client portal, invoices or claims correctly, and states where data is kept. AI features exist in a few products but are thinly described; test them before you trust them.
Midwife-specific tools are a small market, and vendor pages are often short on prices and detail. This comparison uses what each vendor's own page says when fetched in November 2026, notes what it does not say, and gives you a scoring sheet so you can compare on your own needs rather than on the tool with the longest feature list.
What an independent midwife needs from software
Start by writing down the jobs, because the products differ most on the ones people assume are standard.
- Notes. Booking visit, antenatal visits, labour record, birth summary, postnatal visits, letters and referrals. Templates you can edit matter more than the number of templates supplied.
- Records and consent. Electronic consent forms, signatures, and an audit trail of who changed what and when.
- Client portal. A secure way for clients to complete forms, see appointments, message you and sometimes view notes.
- Booking and reminders. Online booking, text or email reminders and a calendar that shows your on-call weeks.
- Invoicing and claims. Invoices and receipts for private clients, and, where it applies in your market, claims to a funder.
- Offline use. Charting at a home birth without a signal.
- Data location and contract. Where records are hosted, backed up, and whether the vendor signs the data agreement your regulator expects.
- AI features. Only if they save you time without adding risk.
Five options checked on vendor pages
| Product | Aimed at | Notes and charting | Portal and consent | Billing | Price shown | AI claim |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Maternity Neighborhood | Solo midwives to larger teams | Full-scope perinatal charting, labour forms, wellness visits, lab requests | Shares education material from a custom library; no portal described | Payment, billing and claims documents | From $55 a month | None mentioned |
| Mobile Midwife EHR | Home-birth practices charting on an iPad, iPhone or Mac | Prenatal, labour flow, postpartum, labs, ultrasounds; works offline | Forms and signed documents through the app or a web portal; chat logged to the chart | Billing mentioned; payment plans by card or bank transfer | Not stated on the page | "Use Siri and Artificial Intelligence to chart for you"; no detail |
| ClientCare | Home birth and birth centres | Templates, checklists, labour and delivery charting, offline | Electronic consent forms, payments, reminders, secure texting | Integrated billing with payment through the portal | $77 a month per provider, $22 per auxiliary user (scheduler, biller); free trial | "AI assisted notes"; pricing page mentions optional audio recording, little else |
| Expect | Solo midwives to large clinics, built for one national funder | Mobile, iPad or laptop; works offline and syncs | Client portal website and free app; notes update from the midwife's entries | Invoices, receipts, statements; automatic claiming to the national funder | Not stated; free training and support | None mentioned |
| BirthTracks | Midwives, OB/GYNs, doulas who log births | Birth log, outcome statistics and birth scheduling; no full chart described | Not described | Not described | $15 a month per provider billed annually, $17 monthly; free trial | None mentioned |
Read that table as a map of what the vendors chose to say, not a ranking. A blank cell means the page did not mention it, not that the feature is missing. Ask the vendor. Two other points matter: two of the five (Mobile Midwife EHR and Expect) publish no price on the pages checked, and only one names the country where data is stored.
A general clinic system as the alternative
If you do not chart births, a general practice-management tool can be enough. Halaxy's pricing page lists a free core platform with calendar, online bookings, patient records, clinical invoicing and templates, an AI scribe sold as a paid add-on using credits, and payment processing fees per transaction. The page is set to another currency, so convert before comparing, and it does not say where data is hosted. It is not midwife-specific, so you would build your own antenatal templates.

The Complete Excel Course with AI Integration
From formulas and pivot tables to Power Query, DAX, VBA and AI with Copilot, ChatGPT and Claude — hands-on from the first lesson.
By Sagnik Bhattacharya and Virginia Thorn, Primetime Emmy Award winner
Buy nowRecords and consent: what to check
Consent in maternity care is not one form. It is a series of decisions over months: booking, screening, place of birth, interventions, newborn care. Software should let you record each, date it, and show what the client was given to read.
- Can clients sign consent forms electronically, and is the signed copy attached to the record with a date and time?
- Can you edit the wording of a form without the vendor?
- Is there an audit log showing edits to a note after it was signed?
- Can you export a full record in a readable format if a client asks, or if you change software?
- Who can see the record: only you, or your backup midwife too? Can access be time-limited?
Mobile Midwife EHR and ClientCare both mention client-signed documents through a portal. Neither page uses the word "audit log", so ask for it by name.
Client portal and booking
A portal reduces phone and message traffic and moves forms from paper to the record. Test it as a client would: sign up on a phone, complete a form, book, and message. If it takes more than a few minutes, clients will ask you to do it for them.
Check three things that pages rarely state: whether clients can see their own notes, whether messages are stored in the record, and whether reminders are included or charged per text. Expect says client notes update from the midwife's entries; Mobile Midwife EHR says messages are logged under the client chart; ClientCare lists secure texting and appointment reminders.
Invoicing, claims and payments
Private invoicing is simple. Funder claims are not, and they differ by market. Expect's page says claiming is automatic, with payments paid within three days of claiming; ask any vendor you consider how claims work in your own market and who is liable for rejected ones. For card payments, ask who the payment processor is and the fee per transaction. Maternity Neighborhood creates payment, billing and claims documents on plans from $55 a month; ClientCare lists payment processing through its portal and Mobile Midwife EHR payment plans by card or bank transfer, and neither page states the processing fee.
Where AI claims are real and where they are labels
Three of the five pages mention nothing on AI. Two use short phrases.
- Mobile Midwife EHR says "Use Siri and Artificial Intelligence to chart for you". That reads as voice dictation into the chart. It does not say whether a language model is involved, where audio goes or what is stored.
- ClientCare mentions "AI assisted notes" for home-birth practices and "AI notes" for birth centres; its pricing page adds "AI assisted charting with optional audio recording for hands free charting". It does not say where the audio is processed, how long it is kept or whether the feature costs extra.
- Halaxy lists an AI scribe as a paid add-on on credits, which is at least a specific product with its own price.
Ask each vendor four questions in writing: Does the feature record audio, and is it kept? Where is the processing done? Is my data used to improve models? Who reviews the output before it enters the record? If the answers are vague, you have learned what the label means. The broader decision is in the scribe decision rule, and costs are in what small clinics pay for scribes.
A test you can run in an afternoon
Use a made-up client. Dictate a plausible antenatal visit: "Thirty-four weeks, blood pressure 118 over 74, fundal height 34 centimetres, baby cephalic, movements normal, mild back pain, advised rest and paracetamol as per plan." Compare the AI note with what you said. Illustrative output for a poor tool: "Baby breech" (wrong), or a plan line you did not say. Score it: errors per note, edits needed, time to finish. One invented clinical fact is enough to keep it off real records until fixed.
Data location, contracts and your regulator
Where a record is stored matters for law, for your professional body and for client trust. Expect states its data is hosted and backed up in datacentres in the same country as the funder it claims from. BirthTracks describes a data centre with geographically dispersed facilities and says it will sign a business associate agreement on request (a contract in which the vendor accepts responsibility for protecting health data). Mobile Midwife EHR says records back up to its own servers once a connection returns, without naming where those are; the other pages did not state hosting.
Questions for any vendor:
- In which country are records stored and backed up?
- Do you sign a data-processing or business associate agreement on my plan?
- How long do you keep deleted records, and can I export everything?
- What happens to my data if I cancel or if you close?
- Does any AI feature send data to a third-party model provider?
If you hold records for clients in the EU, ask about data-protection law and transfers outside it. The questions in the BAA check by plan carry over even if your rules are different.
A scoring sheet
Score each product 0 to 3 on each line, multiply by your weight (1 to 3), and add up. Fill the weights in before you look at any product, otherwise the shiny one wins.
| Criterion | Weight (you set) | Product A | Product B | Product C |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Antenatal to postnatal charting | 3 | |||
| Works offline at a home birth | 3 | |||
| Consent forms and audit trail | 3 | |||
| Client portal | 2 | |||
| Invoicing and claims | 2 | |||
| Data location and agreement | 3 | |||
| Export and exit | 2 | |||
| Price stated in writing | 1 | |||
| AI feature you tested | 1 |
A filled-in example
Illustration for a solo home-birth midwife who attends 4 births a month and bills privately. Her weights are the ones above. She scores three products after a week of trials: A gets 3 on charting, 3 offline, 2 consent, 2 portal, 1 invoicing, 1 data, 2 export, 0 price, 0 AI; B scores 3, 2, 3, 3, 3, 3, 2, 1, 1; C scores 2, 0, 1, 1, 2, 0, 1, 0, 0. Weighted totals: A = 9+9+6+4+2+3+4+0+0 = 37; B = 9+6+9+6+6+9+4+1+1 = 51; C = 6+0+3+2+4+0+2+0+0 = 17. B wins clearly, mostly on data and consent, which she weighted highest. The sheet also shows her that A's data answer was weak and worth asking about.
A trial plan that finds problems before you commit
- Day 1. Create three made-up clients: a routine low-risk pregnancy, a complicated one (say, gestational diabetes), and a home-birth plan. Enter booking visits for each.
- Days 2 to 4. Chart antenatal visits, send a consent form to a colleague posing as a client, and book and cancel an appointment through the portal.
- Day 5. Chart a labour with the phone in flight mode, then reconnect and check the record.
- Day 6. Create invoices, a receipt and (where relevant) a claim. Export the full record.
- Day 7. Test any AI feature using the dictation example above. Write down what you would need to correct.
An email to send each vendor
Short, specific, and answerable in writing. Send the same one to every shortlisted product so the replies line up.
Subject: Questions from an independent midwife before a trial
Hello [first name],
I'm an independent midwife choosing software and would like these answered in writing:
1. The full monthly cost for one practitioner, including portal, texting, payment processing and any per-client fee, and the minimum term.
2. Where records are hosted and backed up, and whether you sign a data-processing agreement on this plan.
3. Does charting work fully offline, and how are conflicts handled when two devices sync?
4. Can clients sign consent forms electronically, and is there an audit log of edits after signing?
5. Can I export every record in a readable format, and what happens to my data if I cancel?
6. Your AI features: does any record audio, where is it processed, is my data used to train models, and who reviews the output?
Thank you,
[your name]
Before and after: a postnatal visit note
This is the sort of edit that a test with a made-up client should reveal. Illustrative.
WHAT YOU DICTATE:
"Day five postnatal visit. Mum well, afebrile, fundus firm, lochia normal, perineum healing, feeding going better with the new latch, baby weight down 6 percent from birth, jaundice mild, plan to reweigh in three days."
A POOR AI NOTE:
"Day 5 visit. Mother well. Baby weight down 6 percent, no concerns. Feeding established. Jaundice resolved."
WHAT YOU WOULD FIX:
- "No concerns" was never said, and the weight loss needs a follow-up plan.
- "Feeding established" overstates "going better".
- "Jaundice resolved" contradicts "mild".
- The reweigh in three days is missing.
Four errors in one short note, each of which changes what a colleague would do. A tool that does this on a trial note needs to be switched off or limited to drafting, with the midwife checking every line. A tool that gets all four right on ten different notes is worth a longer trial.
A quick sum: what software costs per client
Illustration. A solo midwife takes on 40 clients a year. Software at $55 a month is $660 a year, which is $16.50 per client. Add card processing at, say, 2% on invoices of $3,000 per client, which is $60 per client, and the processing fee is far larger than the software. That is why the question about payment fees belongs on the list: the headline subscription is the small number. Now add time. If a tool saves ten minutes of note-writing on each of about twelve contacts per client, that is two hours per client; at your own hourly value, that is the figure to set against $16.50. The sum will not give you a decision, but it shows which line to negotiate.
The cost of switching later
Software is easier to choose than to leave. Records, consent history and invoices build up from your first client. Before you commit, ask yourself three practical questions. How many clients will I have in a year, and how many records would I have to move? Does the vendor offer a bulk export, and in what format? How long would it take me to re-enter active clients by hand if it came to that? A product with an easy export and a published price is a safer first choice than one with more features and neither. If you are already on a system, run a test export this month and open the file; it tells you more about your exit than the contract does.
Mistakes practices make when choosing
Choosing on price from a page that has none. Two of the five vendors here publish no price, and ClientCare and BirthTracks charge per provider, so a second midwife or a student changes the bill. Ask for the full cost, including portal, texting, extra users and payment fees, and a minimum term, in writing.
Trusting "compliant" or "secure" as a data answer. Those words do not say where data is kept or whether you get a signed agreement. Maternity Neighborhood's page calls itself compliant and secure without describing hosting.
Ignoring the exit. A midwife retires or changes software and cannot export notes in a readable form. Test an export in week one.
Treating an AI label as a feature. "AI-assisted" can mean autocomplete. Test it on a made-up record.
Which option for which practice
These are examples, not recommendations, because your market and regulator decide the shortlist.
- Solo home-birth midwife, private clients, an iPad. Shortlist Mobile Midwife EHR and ClientCare; check pricing, audit log and data answers first.
- Midwife claiming from a national funder. Choose software built for that funder's claims; Expect describes this for its market.
- Small group with a birth centre. Look at tools with multi-user access and a shared calendar; Maternity Neighborhood describes scaling to larger teams.
- Midwife who mainly runs consultations and lactation visits. A general clinic system such as Halaxy may be enough, with your own templates.
- Midwife who wants only birth statistics. BirthTracks describes outcome statistics and benchmarking participation.
For a comparison method from another care setting, see choosing nursery software with AI, and for a view of what each AI tool does in a small clinic, AI tools for physiotherapy clinics.
How to check your choice worked
After three months, ask: do you finish notes before the next appointment, or are they still piling up? Are clients using the portal? Are invoices or claims being paid without rework? Has any client asked for their record and received it within a reasonable time? If the answer to two of those is no, revisit the scoring sheet and ask the vendor for help or consider switching while your client list is still small. Keep a copy of the scoring sheet, the trial notes and the vendor's written answers. They are the record of why you chose, and they save a morning when you review the decision a year later.
Questions independent midwives ask about software
Do I need midwife-specific software or will a general clinic system do?
A general clinic system can handle booking, invoicing and a portal, and some have an AI scribe. Midwife-specific tools add antenatal, labour and postnatal charting, birth statistics and home-birth offline use. If you chart births, choose specific; if you mainly run consultations, general may be enough.
Does the software need to work offline?
For home births and rural visits, yes. Check that notes entered offline sync safely when the connection returns, and test it with the phone in flight mode before you rely on it. Ask what happens if two devices edit the same record.
Where should client records be stored?
Where your regulator and your clients' expectations point. Ask each vendor where data is hosted and backed up, not just whether it is secure. If a vendor does not say, treat that as an open question to resolve before signing.
Is an AI note feature safe to use on antenatal records?
Only after you know how it handles audio and text, where it stores them, whether they are used for training, and who checks the note. The midwife stays responsible for every entry. Trial it on a non-identifiable practice scenario first.
Further reads
- Is an AI Scribe Worth It for a Small Private Clinic? — Whether a scribe suits a small private clinic.
- Is It Safe to Use AI With Children's Data in a Nursery? — Handling children's data safely with AI.
- Medical Practice AI Budget: What to Fund First and What It Costs — What to fund first and what it costs.
- What to Ask Before Buying Any AI Tool for a Medical Practice — Vendor questions to ask before buying.
- Medical AI Chatbot for Providers: Clinical Search or Patient FAQ? — Clinical search or patient FAQ bot.
- Do Small Medical Practices Need an AI Consultant? — Whether small practices need outside help.
- Doula Software Compared: Booking, Contracts and AI Features — Doulado, eDoula.biz, HoneyBook and Dubsado compared on booking, e-signed contracts, invoices, price and the AI features that exist.
- AI Tools and AI Development: The Complete 2026 Guide — the AI hub, including every tutorial in the AI-for-business series.
Sources: vendor home pages for Maternity Neighborhood, Mobile Midwife EHR, ClientCare, Expect and BirthTracks, the ClientCare and BirthTracks pricing pages, and Halaxy's pricing page, all checked 4 November 2026. Where a page gave no price or detail, this tutorial says so.