Roofing Software for Small Contractors: CRM or Field Service App With AI?

Coding Liquids tutorial cover featuring Sagnik Bhattacharya for Roofing Software for Small Contractors: CRM or Field Service App With AI?
Coding Liquids tutorial cover featuring Sagnik Bhattacharya for Roofing Software for Small Contractors: CRM or Field Service App With AI?

Choose a roofing CRM, such as AccuLynx or JobNimbus, when jobs run over several days with measurement reports, supplier orders and insurance paperwork. Choose a field service app, such as Jobber or Housecall Pro, when most work is repairs and short jobs. AI features add call answering, lead ranking and drafting, not roofing judgement.

The line between the two has blurred, so test the shape of your jobs rather than the size of your crew. Roofr sits in between: it is roofing software with measurement reports, proposals and material ordering, priced closer to a field app. Two facts shape any comparison. AccuLynx and JobNimbus do not publish prices I could read. And their AI is thinly described: AccuLynx's home page names one feature, "AI-powered lead intelligence", while JobNimbus's own site would not load for me and its help centre describes AssistAI, an AI phone assistant billed as its own subscription.

Follow me on Instagram@sagnikteaches

Prices and features here were read from each vendor's own pages in October 2026, at monthly list prices unless stated. Where a page was blocked or silent, the text says so instead of filling the gap. For the accounting side of the same decision, the roofing accounting tutorial covers deposits and job costing.

Connect on LinkedInSagnik Bhattacharya

Job shape, not crew size, decides the first cut

A two-person firm that only does insurance restorations needs more from its software than a ten-person gutter crew. So the first filter is how many documents and visits a typical job accumulates. Score one point for each statement that is true of your business.

Subscribe on YouTube@sagnikteaches
  1. More than half your revenue is replacement or insurance work rather than repairs.
  2. A typical job collects three or more documents: a measurement report, a proposal, a contract, a material order, a change order, completion photos.
  3. You place a material order with a distributor for most jobs.
  4. You have more than one salesperson, or you calculate commissions.
  5. Adjusters or claim paperwork touch your jobs regularly.
  6. A typical job spans more than one day or more than one crew visit.

A score of 0 to 2 points to a field service app. A score of 3 or 4 means either could work, and Roofr deserves a look. A score of 5 or 6 points to a roofing CRM. This is my rule of thumb, not something any vendor publishes. It rests on what the pages describe: AccuLynx's home page leads with a sales pipeline, measurement data with live material pricing, supplier direct ordering and a drag-and-drop production calendar, while Jobber's and Housecall Pro's plan pages are built around booking, scheduling, estimates, invoicing and payments.

Three roofers, three different answers

Here are three illustrative businesses, each walked through the same questions.

A two-person repair firm. The owner and a helper do leak repairs, flashing and gutters, about 15 to 20 small jobs a month. One login is enough. Job-shape score: 1. A field service app fits. Jobber Core is $49 a month for one user at the monthly list price; Housecall Pro Basic is $79 monthly for one user and lists online booking, scheduling and dispatch, estimates and invoicing, payments, a price book and job costing. A year of either costs between roughly $590 and $950 before any AI add-on, and nothing in the firm's week needs a supplier order or a measurement report.

A three-crew replacement roofer. Twelve replacements a month, five people needing logins: the owner, two estimators, an office manager and a crew lead. Job-shape score: 5, from replacement work, several documents per job, supplier orders, two salespeople and multi-day jobs. This is the contested middle. Roofr Essentials is $249 a month on monthly billing, and its plan card now says "Unlimited users" (the FAQ still speaks of "a set number of users", so get the seat count in writing). Measurement reports cost $13 each, so twelve reports add $156 and the monthly total is $405. Add Roofr's $49 texting add-on and it is $454, or about $5,450 a year. Jobber Grow for five users is $299 a month, about $3,590 a year, or about $4,180 with the $49 Pipeline add-on if you want Jobber's sales pipeline, with EagleView measurements available through an integration whose report fees are extra. A CRM quote belongs on the shortlist too.

A seven-crew restoration firm. Ten logins, four salespeople on commission, insurance work on most jobs. Job-shape score: 6. Field service app list prices are not the barrier: Jobber Plus for ten users is $599 a month and Housecall Pro MAX for eight users is $329, plus $35 for each extra one, so $399 for ten. The question is whether supplier ordering, a production calendar and claim documentation sit in the tool or in a patchwork around it. Here a CRM quote is the first call, not the third.

An insurance job shows why. Its file typically holds a first photo set, notes from the adjuster meeting, the scope as agreed, any supplement request, the material order, a completion record and the final photos. That is six or seven documents on one address, each produced by a different person. If a tool cannot hold them together, someone builds a folder system beside it, and that shadow system is the hidden cost. The tutorial on roof damage photo reports covers the photo end of that file.

A re-roof file stage by stage: what each vendor says it covers

Each cell records what the vendor's own pages say. "Not stated" means the page I read did not mention it, which is not the same as the product lacking it.

StageJobberHousecall ProRoofrAccuLynxJobNimbus
PipelineSales pipeline "from first contact to approved work"; a $49 a month add-on below PlusPipeline listed on its roofing pageCRM with job boardsSales and CRM pipelineSite blocked; ask
MeasurementsThrough an EagleView integrationNot statedReports from $13 each on paid plansMeasurement data in estimating; EagleView listedSite blocked; ask
Proposal with optionsOptional line items on Grow and PlusSales proposal tool on MAXProposals; unlimited on Essentials and ScaleNot statedSite blocked; ask
Deposit and signatureCustomers can approve, pay a deposit, request a change or sign onlineNot stated; payments and consumer financing listedRoofr Payments on Essentials and ScalePayment collection listed; e-sign not mentionedSite blocked; ask
Material orderNot statedNot stated"Order materials and get supplier quotes in one place"Supplier direct ordering with status trackingSite blocked; ask
Production scheduleScheduling; crew scheduling on PlusDrag-and-drop schedulingCalendarDrag-and-drop production calendarSite blocked; ask
PhotosCrews capture photos on sitePhoto reports on Essentials; CompanyCam integrationNot statedCompanyCam listedSite blocked; ask
AccountingQuickBooks sync from ConnectQuickBooks Online sync from EssentialsNot confirmed (its integrations page returned an error)QuickBooks listed; invoices and payments viewableQuickBooks Desktop and Online

The table shows where the gap really is. Jobber and Housecall Pro cover the front and back ends of a job well; the middle, from measurement to material order, is where Roofr and AccuLynx state more. If your jobs have that middle, the CRM-side tools earn their place. If they do not, paying for it is waste. The measurement side is compared in the roof report cost tutorial.

Each candidate in a paragraph: where it fits and where it strains

Jobber fits a repair-led firm with one to five logins. Its roofing page lists quotes with optional line items, online approval with a deposit and signature, a sales pipeline, on-site photos and an EagleView integration for measurements, and it does not mention material ordering. Plans step by users: Core is one user at $49 a month, Connect is $139 for one user and $199 for five, Grow is $199 and $299, and Plus starts at five users for $499. The pricing page sells Pipeline, the sales pipeline, as a $49 add-on below Plus, so count it in if you want leads tracked there. The strain shows when a job needs a supplier order and a production calendar, because you would run those beside it.

Housecall Pro fits one to eight logins. Basic ($79 monthly, one user) covers booking, dispatch, estimates, payments and job costing. Essentials ($189, five users) adds photo reports, commissions, GPS tracking and QuickBooks Online sync. MAX ($329, eight users) adds the sales proposal tool and route optimisation. Its roofing page lists change orders that can be updated on site, but not measurements, material orders or claims. The step from Basic to Essentials costs $110 a month, so whether the accounting sync and commissions matter to you decides if it pays.

Roofr fits replacement roofers with a small office team who want measurements, proposals and material ordering in one place. Starter is $0 with $19 reports and one basic job board, Essentials is $249 with one flexible board and unlimited proposals, and Scale is $349 with seven customisable job boards. Every plan card now says "Unlimited users" and Roofr says it does not charge per seat, though its FAQ also mentions "a set number of users". Add-ons stack: the Instant Estimator ($125 or $149), texting ($49), the AI Receptionist ($99 after its free period) and Roofr Sites. The pricing page shows more than one figure for several of these, so ask for a sample invoice with every add-on you intend to use.

AccuLynx fits companies with three or more users who want the whole roofing workflow in one system. Its home page lists a sales pipeline, estimating with measurement data and live material pricing, supplier direct ordering, a production calendar and more than 20 integrations, including ABC Supply, SRS Distribution, QXO, EagleView, CompanyCam and QuickBooks. Pricing is per licence per month with no contract. The strain is information: the plan pages I reached name no features or prices, so the stage table above works as a demo checklist rather than a verdict.

JobNimbus returned an access error for its main site and pricing page, so I can say only what its support site shows: a QuickBooks integration for Desktop and Online, and a separate AI phone assistant billed as its own subscription. Treat it as a demo-first candidate and run the same ten questions and three-job trial on it.

Quote-only pricing: what to ask on the AccuLynx or JobNimbus call

AccuLynx's FAQ says pricing is based on the number of users and the features you need, that it charges a monthly fee for each licence, and that there is no contract. The same FAQ says a company with as little as three users can use it. That describes who it suits, not what it costs. JobNimbus gave me nothing public to read on price. Take a written quote and put these questions to each:

  1. Who counts as a licence? Office staff only, or crew leads who just upload photos too.
  2. Is there a minimum number of licences?
  3. What is the onboarding or training fee, and is it a one-off?
  4. What is the contract term, and what happens to the price at renewal?
  5. Which AI features are in the quote, and which are billed separately? JobNimbus's help centre describes its AI phone assistant, AssistAI, as its own subscription with no figures given there.
  6. How are measurement reports ordered, from which providers, and who pays per report?
  7. Which distributors can you order from inside the tool, and is that included?
  8. What syncs to accounting? AccuLynx's page says invoices and payments can be viewed in AccuLynx; JobNimbus's support site lists QuickBooks Desktop and Online. Ask whether bills and job costs move across.
  9. How do you export contacts, jobs, photos and documents if you leave?
  10. How long does the quoted price hold?

Then do the sum properly. Suppose a ten-licence quote came back at a hypothetical $110 per licence a month with a $2,000 onboarding fee. Year one is 10 x $110 x 12 = $13,200, plus $2,000, which is $15,200. Jobber Plus for ten users at $599 a month is $7,188 over the same year. The $8,012 gap is the price of whatever roofing-specific steps the CRM covers, so the useful question is which tools and hours it replaces, not whether it is dearer.

What the AI features add, and what they leave to you

Every vendor on this list now names some AI. The features are alike in kind: they answer calls, rank or draft, and rarely touch the roofing work itself.

VendorAI named on its pagesPublished cost or planWhat to test
JobberAI Receptionist for calls and texts; Jobber AI Voice and Jobber AI Chat; auto-drafted quotes. Its roofing page names no AIReceptionist is a $29 a month add-on; the pricing page gives no price for the others; automated quote follow-ups start at ConnectTen urgent calls, including a leak
Housecall Pro"AI Team": Marketing AI, CSR AI (chat), Analyst AI, Coach AI, Help AIIts AI Team page's FAQ lists them as included on all plans, with phone answering paid, yet the same page says "CSR AI sold separately" and the pricing page shows CSR AI as an add-on with no price, so ask which appliesWhat the chat collects and whether it says it is an AI
RoofrAI Receptionist for calls; Roofr Sites, an AI-built websiteReceptionist $99 a month including 200 minutes, free through the end of 2026 on Essentials and Scale, calls onlySpam screening and the transfer to a person
AccuLynx"AI-powered lead intelligence" under sales toolsNo price on pages I could readHow leads are ranked and whether you can see why
JobNimbusAssistAI, an AI phone assistant, per its help centreBilled as its own subscription; no figures there. The help centre says it cannot be paused and an unanswered transfer cannot be taken backWhat that means for a storm week, and who answers when a transfer fails

Three points follow. First, the AI is similar across both groups, so it should not decide the CRM-versus-app question; job shape should. Second, phone answering is the most developed piece, and storm season is when it matters; this look at Roofr's receptionist and the built-in versus standalone comparison go into it. Third, none of the pages I read lists AI that reads an adjuster's estimate, builds a proposal from site photos or places a material order for you. When a salesperson says the platform "does that with AI", ask to see it on one of your own jobs.

List prices for a five-user office, side by side

Monthly list prices, billed month to month. Annual prepayment is cheaper on most; the figures in brackets are from each vendor's page.

Tool and planMonthly listWhat the plan page says it addsExtras to budget
Jobber Connect, 5 users$199 ($149 annual)Quote and invoice follow-ups; QuickBooks syncReceptionist $29; Pipeline $49
Jobber Grow, 5 users$299 ($229 annual)Optional line items on quotesReceptionist $29; Pipeline $49
Jobber Plus, 5 users$499 ($399 annual)Crew scheduling; Receptionist, Pipeline and Marketing Suite includedMeasurement report fees
Housecall Pro Essentials, 5 users$189 ($149 annual)Routes, photo reports, GPS tracking, commissions, QuickBooks Online syncPhone answering
Housecall Pro MAX, 8 users$329 ($299 annual)Sales proposal tool, recurring service plans, route optimisation$35 per extra user
Roofr Essentials, users "unlimited" on the plan card$249 ($209 annual)Unlimited proposals, one flexible job board, Roofr Payments$13 a report, $49 texting
AccuLynx, JobNimbusQuote onlySee the stage tableOnboarding, AI phone service

Two sums are worth doing. Over a year, the gap between Housecall Pro Essentials on monthly billing ($2,268) and Jobber Connect ($2,388) is $120, so price will not separate them. And Roofr's per-report charge scales with work: at twelve replacements a month it is $156, equal to 63% of the $249 base fee. Check how many jobs you measure, not just how many users you have.

A decision rule by crew size, with its exceptions

People needing a loginTypical workStart withMove up when
1 to 2Repairs and small jobsJobber Core or Connect, or Housecall Pro BasicReplacements need measurement reports and proposals
3 to 5Replacement-ledRoofr Essentials; or Jobber Grow or Housecall Pro Essentials if materials ordering stays outsideA second salesperson, commissions or insurance work
6 or moreSeveral salespeople, insurance restorationAn AccuLynx or JobNimbus quote, with Roofr Scale ($349, seven job boards) as a comparisonYou are paying for tools the CRM would replace

Two exceptions override the table. Insurance restoration pushes you towards a CRM at any size, because AccuLynx's own FAQ describes the product as designed for companies focused on residential insurance restoration and retail roofing. Jobber's roofing page mentions insurance only as documentation being ready for adjusters, and Housecall Pro's roofing page does not mention claims at all. And if your accountant works in QuickBooks, check the sync rules above before you sign, because Jobber's starts at Connect and Housecall Pro's at Essentials.

A 30-day trial that uses three real jobs

Pick three finished jobs from last season: a repair, a replacement and an insurance job. In each trial, re-enter all three from the first call to the final invoice and time the office work.

  1. Record the minutes of office admin per job, and count fields you had to type twice.
  2. Try the weakest stage for that tool: a material order in a field app, a one-day repair in a CRM.
  3. Test the AI add-on on ten recorded or role-played calls, including a leak and a request for a person. For the questions to use, see the storm-enquiry chatbot tutorial, which has a ten-enquiry test that adapts to calls.
  4. Ask for an export of everything you entered, and open it.
  5. Ask the crew lead to find tomorrow's job from the phone and report back.

An illustrative result: Tool A takes 14 minutes for the repair, 61 for the replacement and 95 for the insurance job; Tool B takes 12, 52 and 118. Tool B wins the first two, but the insurance job costs 23 minutes more, which at eight insurance jobs a month is more than three hours. Weigh the result by the job type you do most, and if the totals differ by under ten minutes a job, let the price decide.

Roofing software questions that come up after the shortlist

Is Roofr a roofing CRM or a field service app?

Roofr calls itself a suite of tools for roofing businesses, with a CRM, measurement reports, proposals, payments, material ordering and a calendar. It sits between the two groups: roofing-specific like AccuLynx, priced and sized more like a field app. Its Starter and Essentials plans include one job board each; Scale lists seven customisable boards, so check the board count before assuming a full production pipeline.

Why can't I find AccuLynx or JobNimbus prices?

Neither publishes a price list I could read. AccuLynx's FAQ says pricing depends on the number of users and features, is charged monthly per licence, and carries no contract. JobNimbus's own site did not load for me at all. Ask both for a written quote and compare the first-year total including onboarding, add-ons and any separately billed AI phone service.

Should AI lead scoring decide which CRM I buy?

No. AccuLynx's home page names AI-powered lead intelligence under its sales tools, but it gives no detail I could test, and ranking leads only helps when leads outnumber the time you have to call them. Choose on job shape, supplier ordering, measurement ordering and cost, then treat AI as a feature to trial in the free or no-contract window.

Can I start with a field service app and move to a CRM later?

Yes, and many small roofers do. The risk is in the exit: before you commit, ask each vendor how to export contacts, jobs, photos and documents, and in what format. Start with the app that costs least when you leave, and keep customer files in a form you control, such as a shared folder with consistent job names.

Further reads

Sources: Jobber pricing and roofing pages and AI Receptionist page; Housecall Pro pricing, roofing and AI Team pages; Roofr home, pricing and AI Receptionist pages; AccuLynx home and integrations pages; JobNimbus support site (October 2026; the JobNimbus main and pricing pages returned an access error).

Not sure whether your jobs need a CRM or an app?

On a 1:1 call we'll walk three of your recent jobs through each candidate tool, find where the retyping happens, and decide whether a CRM earns its price for you.

Book a 1:1 call with me