Automated Booking Systems for Therapists: Which Ones Automate What?

Coding Liquids tutorial cover featuring Sagnik Bhattacharya for Automated Booking Systems for Therapists: Which Ones Automate What?
Coding Liquids tutorial cover featuring Sagnik Bhattacharya for Automated Booking Systems for Therapists: Which Ones Automate What?

A solo therapist should pick the booking system that already sits inside their client-record software if it has reminders, a waitlist and card-on-file fees, and add a standalone scheduler only when it lacks them. What to automate first: reminders, then cancellation-slot refilling, then the late-cancellation fee, in that order.

The catch is the business associate agreement (BAA), the contract a vendor signs to handle client information on your behalf. In several of the cheaper standalone schedulers it sits only on the top plan, or is not mentioned at all. That one line often decides the comparison before price does.

Follow me on Instagram@sagnikteaches

What "automated" should mean for a one-person practice

Vendors use the word for anything from an online booking page to a system that rebooks a cancelled slot without you. Break it into five jobs and score tools on each:

Connect on LinkedInSagnik Bhattacharya
  1. Self-booking. A client picks a slot from the hours you have opened, within rules you set (new clients only on Tuesdays, no booking inside 24 hours).
  2. Reminders. Text and email before the appointment, with a confirm or reschedule link.
  3. Waitlist fill. When a client cancels, waiting clients are told a slot is free.
  4. Late-cancellation and no-show fees. The system records a late cancel against your policy and charges the card on file.
  5. Calendar sync. Your personal calendar blocks the same hours so nobody double-books you.

Everything else, such as intake forms and invoices, is useful but belongs in the wider practice software decision. The five jobs above are what you can see on a free trial in an hour, which is how you should test each tool.

Subscribe on YouTube@sagnikteaches

The tools compared on what they do and cost

Figures below are USD list prices read from each vendor's pricing page on 4 November 2026. The table gives what the page says; "check in trial" means the page did not say, so test it yourself.

ToolEntry priceBAARemindersWaitlistCancellation fee
Acuity SchedulingStarter $16, Standard $27, Premium $55 a month on yearly billing ($20, $34, $69 monthly)Premium onlyText reminders on Standard and Premium, not StarterStandard and PremiumTakes payments and deposits; the pricing page does not describe cancellation fees
SimplePracticeStarter $49, Essential $79, Plus $99 a month (half price for three months if you convert early in the trial)Not on the pricing page; confirm in writingReminders and calendar sync from Essential; Starter has online appointment requests onlyCheck in trialCheck in trial
JaneBalance $59, Practice $79, Thrive $99 a monthNot stated on the pricing or security page; askEmail on every plan; unlimited free text reminders on Practice and Thrive, where SMS is availableAutomated waitlist management on ThriveCard on file and booking payment policies listed; test the late-cancel charge
CarepatronFree plan; Plus $31 and Advanced $39 a month per practitioner, half price for the first six monthsPublishes a standard BAA that takes effect when an account is createdAutomatic reminders from Plus, not on FreeCheck in trialBooking approval and cancellation policies from Plus
Square AppointmentsFree; Plus $49; Premium $149 a month per locationNot stated; ask before useText and email on every tierFrom PlusCancellation policy and no-show fees from Plus
CalendlyFree; Standard $10 a seat a month on yearly billingNot mentioned; askAutomated reminders; text not specified on the pricing pageNone listedPayments through Stripe or PayPal from Standard

Two points stand out. First, the free and entry tiers are where the automation you want is most often missing: Carepatron's free plan has no automatic reminders or calendar sync and caps you at 100 appointments in total, SimplePractice's Starter has no reminders, and Acuity's Starter has neither text reminders nor a waitlist. Second, Jane prices AI Scribe at $15 a month per opted-in practitioner beyond five free notes a month, which matters if you want notes and booking from one vendor.

The Complete Excel Course with AI Integration thumbnail

The Complete Excel Course with AI Integration

From formulas and pivot tables to Power Query, DAX, VBA and AI with Copilot, ChatGPT and Claude — hands-on from the first lesson.

By Sagnik Bhattacharya and Virginia Thorn, Primetime Emmy Award winner

Buy now

Reminders: the one automation every therapist should switch on

No-shows are the cost of an hour empty. Reminders are the cheapest fix. Set two: one 48 hours before, with a confirm or reschedule link, and one 3 hours before, short, no link. A neutral template:

Hi [first name], a reminder that you have an appointment with [your name]
on [day] at [time]. Reply C to confirm or use [link] to change it.
Changes inside 24 hours may incur a fee as agreed at booking.

The wording never says "therapy", "session" or the reason for the visit. Text messages preview on lock screens, and a client at work may not want the word visible. Ask at intake: "Is text, email, or neither best for reminders?" Record the answer and respect it.

SMS cost is where bills creep. Some tools include texts in the plan, some meter them, and a few pass through a per-message charge. Acuity's pricing page does not state a per-message cost, while Jane lists unlimited free text reminders on Practice and Thrive, the clearest answer of the six. Put a rough sum in your notes: 25 clients a week, two reminders each, 50 texts a week, about 215 a month. At a hypothetical 1 cent a text that is $2.15; at 5 cents, $10.75. Ask the vendor for the real rate, and check whether replies from clients are also billed.

Waitlist fill: how it works and when it pays

A waitlist turns a cancellation into a booking. A client cancels on Thursday for Friday at 10. The system texts the waiting clients in order: "A slot has opened Friday at 10. Reply YES to take it." The first yes gets it, and the others are told it has gone.

Take an illustrative solo practice charging $120 a session. It averages two late cancellations a week, with no refill. That is $240 a week of lost income, or roughly $960 across a four-week month. If a waitlist refills half, that is about $480 a month recovered, against a plan upgrade from $16 to $27 a month. Even refilling one slot in four, the maths holds.

The weakness is client mix. A waitlist works for flexible clients (daytime, remote, short notice) and fails for clients with fixed commitments. Be honest about who is on the list, and don't offer a same-day slot to a client in crisis simply because the software did; keep clinical triage in your hands.

Late-cancellation fee rules: automate carefully

Charging automatically feels efficient and creates the most complaints. A defensible set of rules:

  • The fee policy is in the signed client agreement and repeated in the confirmation email.
  • The system takes a card on file at booking, not at the moment of cancelling.
  • The window is clear: for instance, 24 hours for a standard session.
  • You can waive the fee in one click, because illness and emergencies happen.
  • The charge sends a receipt that names the policy, not just an amount.

Test it: make a fake client, book, cancel inside the window, and watch whether the tool charges, flags, or only records. Some tools only record. Others charge without asking you, which is the one to avoid unless the waiver is easy. Square Appointments lists no-show fees from its Plus plan, which is a useful example of a feature gated by tier.

A realistic mistake

A therapist sets an automatic charge and a client with a family bereavement cancels two hours before. The system charges the full fee, the client replies angrily, and the therapist spends a half day refunding it. The fix is to choose the setting where the system flags the late cancel and waits for your confirmation, even if it costs you thirty seconds a week.

Calendar sync that does not leak clients

Two-way sync with your personal calendar stops double-booking, but check what it writes. Many tools post the client's name or the appointment type to a Google or Outlook calendar. If your phone, a partner or an assistant can see that calendar, set the sync to show "Busy" only. Also confirm how fast it updates: a ten-minute lag is enough for two clients to book the same hour.

Tool by tool: what each one is best at

Acuity Scheduling: best for a standalone scheduler with a BAA option

Acuity is a scheduler, not a records system. It suits a therapist who keeps notes elsewhere and wants a clean booking page. The pricing page lists Starter, Standard and Premium, with a seven-day free trial on all plans, text reminders and the waitlist from Standard, and a BAA only on Premium. So a therapist who needs a BAA, reminders and a waitlist is at $55 a month on yearly billing ($69 if paid monthly), not $16. Illustration: a part-time therapist who needs reminders and a waitlist but keeps no client details in the tool (booking page with first names only, intake elsewhere) might choose Standard at $27. That is a risk decision, and one to check with a qualified adviser rather than assume.

SimplePractice: best when notes, billing and booking should live together

The advantage is that a booking is already attached to a client record, so a reminder, an invoice and a note all point to one person. The pricing page lists Starter at $49 a month, Essential at $79 and Plus at $99, with half price for three months if you convert within seven days of starting the 30-day trial. Appointment reminders and calendar sync start at Essential, so the $49 plan does not cover the first automation on this list. Note Taker is an add-on at $35 a month after 30 days free. Because it is an all-in-one, switching later means exporting records as well as bookings. Our tutorial on Note Taker or Care Aide covers the AI side.

Jane: best for clinics with several practitioners and front-desk needs

Jane's plans are priced by tier with extra practitioners billed per licence, the entry Balance plan is limited to one practitioner profile and 20 appointments a month, and online booking and one-to-one telehealth are on every plan. That appointment cap is the detail to notice: a full solo caseload exceeds 20 appointments a month in the first week and a half. Unlimited free text reminders are listed for Practice and Thrive (SMS availability varies by region), and Thrive adds automated waitlist management, so the plan with both text reminders and the automated waitlist is Thrive at $99 a month.

Carepatron: best when budget is the main constraint

The free plan lists unlimited clients, telehealth, a client portal, online payments, and an AI scribe, within limits of 1GB of data, one million AI tokens and 1,000 tasks. For booking, the limits that matter sit further down the comparison table: the free plan caps you at 100 appointments in total and leaves out automatic reminders, calendar sync and booking or cancellation policies. All of those arrive with Plus at $31 a month per practitioner, half price for the first six months. Carepatron also publishes a standard BAA that, by its own wording, takes effect when your account is created; read it before moving client records across.

Square Appointments and Calendly: good schedulers, check the clinical fit

Both are general-purpose. Square Appointments lists Free, Plus at $49 and Premium at $149 a month per location. Its Plus plan adds a waitlist that notifies clients when a slot opens, plus a cancellation policy that charges the card on file for late cancellations or no-shows, which covers four of the five jobs. Calendly's Standard plan costs $10 a seat on yearly billing and lists no waitlist. Neither is built around therapy records, so they suit a practice that wants simple booking and does its notes elsewhere. Ask each for a BAA in writing before client details go in.

Booking rules that do the screening for you

A scheduler can protect your week if you set rules, not just slots. Four worth setting:

  • New clients book a 15-minute call first. Offer a separate short appointment type for consultation calls, with a different length and no fee. Hold full-length slots for clients you have already screened.
  • Buffer time. Add 10 minutes after each appointment for notes. Without it the system will happily stack your day with no gaps.
  • Minimum notice. Block bookings inside 12 or 24 hours unless you approve them.
  • Daily maximum. Cap clients per day, say five, so a rush of bookings cannot create a day you cannot sustain.

Example: a therapist who works Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday sets Tuesday 9 to 4 for existing clients, Thursday afternoons for new-client calls, a ten-minute buffer after each session, and a limit of five bookings a day. The system fills the diary the way she would by hand, without her opening her inbox.

A cancellation policy you can paste into the intake form

Appointments can be cancelled or rescheduled without charge up to 24
hours before the start time, using the link in your confirmation or by
replying to the reminder. Cancellations inside 24 hours, and missed
appointments, are charged at [fee]. I will waive the fee in cases of
illness or emergency at my discretion. A card is held securely on file
and is only charged if this policy applies, and I will tell you before
any charge is made.

The last sentence turns an automatic charge into a conversation, which is what most clients and most professional bodies expect. Have a qualified adviser check the wording for your profession, and make sure the signature step is in the booking flow, not an afterthought.

When a booking tool has gone wrong

Three symptoms and their usual causes. Reminders arriving twice: the booking tool and the records platform both send them, so turn one off. A client booking a slot you thought was blocked: sync lag or a calendar that was set to one-way. A client saying they never got a text: the number was entered with a typo or the carrier filtered the sender, so keep email as the fallback and ask clients to reply once to confirm they receive texts.

Three practices, three choices

A part-time practice, eight clients a week. A free or cheap scheduler with email reminders, a short manual waitlist, and a fee policy you enforce yourself. The BAA question still applies, so use a tool that signs one or keep client names and details out of it.

A full-time solo practice, 25 clients a week. Booking inside the records platform, so intake, notes and reminders live in one place. Texting included, waitlist on, fee set to "flag, then confirm".

Two therapists sharing rooms. Per-practitioner seats, shared room blocking, and separate client lists. Check how each seat is priced: Jane's Practice plan adds $35 a month per extra full-time practitioner ($17.50 part-time), and SimplePractice lists additional clinicians from $74 a month.

A trial script: ten steps in one hour

  1. Create two test clients with your own email and phone.
  2. Book each into slots a week apart.
  3. Check the confirmation wording and whether it reveals the type of appointment.
  4. Check both reminders arrive and the confirm link works.
  5. Cancel one inside the late window and see what happens to the fee.
  6. Join the waitlist as the second test client, then cancel the first booking and watch the offer.
  7. Reschedule from the client side and check the calendar updated.
  8. Look at your connected personal calendar for what is written there.
  9. Ask support one question and time the reply.
  10. Find the export button and download your client list.

Step ten matters most and is the one people skip. A tool you cannot leave with your data is a commitment, not a subscription.

The BAA conversation in three sentences

Email the vendor: "I am a solo therapist storing client names, contact details and appointment times in your system. Will you sign a BAA for the plan I intend to buy? Please confirm which plan includes it and whether text reminders pass through a subprocessor that is covered." Compare that with Acuity, whose page names Premium as the plan that includes a BAA, and the cost jump from $27 to $55 a month is the price of that agreement. Our tutorial on which vendors sign a BAA goes through the same question for AI tools.

If you are also considering a voice answering layer, see AI receptionist or answering service for when it is worth it. Whichever route you take, measure the return over 90 days: count filled cancellations, no-shows before and after reminders, and minutes spent on admin each week. If you would rather map the options with someone, that is what my AI implementation consultation covers.

How to tell it is working after a month

Compare four numbers against the month before: no-shows, late cancellations, slots refilled, and admin minutes per week. A worked illustration: before, 6 no-shows and 5 late cancels in a month; after, 2 no-shows, 4 late cancels, 3 slots refilled. At $120 a session that is a recovery of roughly 4 no-shows plus 3 refills, about $840, before costs. If the numbers are flat after two months, the system is not the problem; check whether reminders actually send and whether your policy is visible at booking.

Booking questions solo therapists ask

Do I need a BAA for a booking tool?

If appointment details can reveal that someone is a client, or the tool stores intake answers, most advisers say treat it as a vendor handling client information and ask for a signed BAA. Rules differ by profession and location, so check with your professional body or a qualified adviser before relying on a free tool.

Should reminders mention that it is a therapy appointment?

Keep the wording neutral: your name or practice name, date and time, and a reply option. Avoid the word therapy, diagnosis or session topic in text messages, since phones show previews on lock screens. Ask each client at intake whether text, email or neither is fine.

Can the system charge a late-cancellation fee on its own?

Some can, if a card is on file and your policy says so. Others only record the late cancel and leave the charge to you. Test a fake booking end to end, and make sure the client has agreed to the fee in writing before the first appointment.

Is a waitlist worth it for a solo practice?

Usually yes once you have a regular cancellation or two a week. A freed slot offered by text to three waiting clients can fill within hours. Below that volume, a manual short list kept in your notes works fine.

Further reads

Sources: pricing pages for Acuity Scheduling, SimplePractice, Jane, Carepatron, Square Appointments and Calendly, Carepatron's published BAA and Jane's security page (all read 4 November 2026). Prices change, so confirm on the vendor page.

Want your booking steps mapped properly?

On a 1:1 call we can walk through your intake, reminder and cancellation steps, pick the one worth automating first, and check whether your current software can do it.

Book a 1:1 call with me